Ready Player One

Thoughts rpobyec Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, Audible 2012, Narrated by Wil Wheaton, 15.75 hours

WHY I READ THIS:  This book, a science fiction geeky gamer story, has been getting so many good reviews that I just had to find out why. The audiobook and the narrator have especially received high marks for entertainment. I want to read more science fiction. I like and dislike Mr. Wheaton and I had a free credit to burn at Audible.

I also wonder how it ended up on so many of my favorite bloggers favorites lists! How did this book  get into the hands (and ears?) of so many people I respect? It must have had a helluva genius marketing team because I can only think that they are many other books equally as geeky and fun that have not hit the bonanza like this one.

CARE’s QUICK What’s It ABOUT:  Set in the future where world energy resources are lacking and every person seems to be mostly living an escapist  life online in a virtual world, this tells of an amazingly rich and eccentric designer of this virtual world who has set up an elaborate ‘game’ to hunt for the rights to his fortune after his death. Our hero, Wade narrates this quest.  We meet his friends, learn of his adventures both in the ‘real’ world and the online world, and gasp & squeal & shout for his success. Wait – no, not success but his very survival!!

It’s fun.

Wheaton does a great job. The book has so many 80s references that I was able to relive some fun memories of my own days in that decade. I didn’t play that many computer games when I was a teen but this was still fun. Pacing and plot are terrific, world building wonderful and I really cheered the characters as they fought the bad guys. Honestly, the scene where two of the people meet IRL after being such good friends for so long online, brought a tear to my eyes. *sniff*

RATING: Four slices of pie. Chess pie; since chess is a game. Ok, that’s lame but I can’t think of any pie references in the book.

fourpie

22 Responses to “Ready Player One”


  1. 1 Laurie C January 24, 2013 at 6:36 am

    Yay! Glad you liked it! I was very disdainful of people who spent all their time playing video games in the 80s, but came around to computer games when I started getting hooked on them myself on our very first computer. (Oregon Trail and Sim City, anyone?)

    • 2 Care January 24, 2013 at 7:53 am

      Disdainful! You were probably a book snob in high school, huh? Honestly, I don’t remember who if anyone in my circle played video games but I recall wondering what D&D was and being too afraid to ask.

      • 3 Laurie C January 26, 2013 at 9:26 am

        Yes, I’m a reformed book snob! I still haven’t come around to role-playing games, but that’s probably a failure of imagination on my part. I’ve found it very easy to get hooked on computer games like Myst, etc., so I try to stay away from them!

  2. 4 bermudaonion(Kathy) January 24, 2013 at 7:18 am

    I loved this book and was just recommending it to someone the other day.

  3. 5 Words for Worms January 24, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Ooooh sounds like a good time! I’m not super proficient in video games, because I’ve never been any good at them… My hand eye coordination sucks. I now want to read this, and I want to taste chess pie, because I’ve never had it.

  4. 6 Rory O'Connor January 24, 2013 at 9:37 am

    I love this book and I don’t think there was anyone more perfect than Wil Wheaton to narrate. It doesn’t hurt that I absolutely love the ’80’s and science fiction. It was one of my favorite books I read last year.

  5. 7 Ti January 24, 2013 at 9:47 am

    I kinda did not like this one and I love 80’s pop culture. I just felt everything was too contrived and convenient.

    • 8 Care January 24, 2013 at 10:12 am

      Sometimes you ride the rollercoaster and do NOT think about how old the rusty bolts are that are holding it together – you just hang on and love the thrill. :D

  6. 9 Leeswammes January 24, 2013 at 10:53 am

    This was my favorite book for last year. I didn’t play many computer games in the 80s (although I did later!) but I recognised so much in the book. Great!

  7. 10 Melissa January 24, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    It’s amazing to me that some books just get tons of love and press and other similar books fall by the wayside. I read and liked this one too, but I agree, it got tons of press!

  8. 11 Ali (Worducopia) January 24, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    I’m not a big sci fi fan and was never much of a gamer, but it sure sounds like this one made a splash. I might have to check it out.

  9. 12 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) January 24, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    I was one of the people who loved this one. I just thought it was so much fun. Sure, a little convenient at times, but the whole time I listened I was having fun.

  10. 13 Jenners January 24, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    I really enjoyed this one and your line — ” can only think that they are many other books equally as geeky and fun ” — makes me say: What are those books? I’d like to read them too!

  11. 14 Marie (@bostonbibliophl) January 24, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    everyone at the bookstore has been loving this! I may have to check it out :-)

  12. 15 whatsheread January 24, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Still one of my favorite audiobooks of all time. I particularly geeked out with all the mentions of Middletown, Ohio, since I was living in Middletown, Ohio when I was listening to the book!

  13. 17 Lightheaded January 25, 2013 at 7:47 am

    I read this book last year and I had so much fun!

  14. 18 susanbright January 25, 2013 at 11:06 am

    love your pies……we prefer omelets! I too was wondering about this book. Thanks!

  15. 19 Sheila (Book Journey) January 25, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    I GUSHED about this one and even your review here makes me want to listen ti it again (I am sure I will at some pint this year) AWESOME audio! I am glad you listened to it Care!

  16. 20 Lisa January 26, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    I swear to God I am the only person on the PLANET who did not like this book. Not at all. What the hell did I miss???

  17. 21 Athira January 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I thought this was fun too! I didn’t love the ending, but it was a hard-to-put-down book!

  18. 22 Keyword SEO July 4, 2013 at 8:13 am

    I don’t even know the way I ended up here, but I believed this submit used to be good. I do not recognise who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already. Cheers!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

Twitter Updates

Tried to capture a very cute pic of the pups sleeping but Oscar awoke and moved when I got my phone out.

Goodreads

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,498 other followers

