National Pie Day Jan 23rd, 2013 #ilovepie

January 23 is National Pie Day according to the American Pie Council. I wonder if other countries celebrate a pie day? I wonder if I could find a pie day in every month? Of course, March 14 is a pie day as is the 22nd of July. And be sure to put March 14 in the year 2015 on your calendar as a pie day because the date is most like the pi number:  3.1415926 – so let’s all be eating pie at 9:26 am that day to truly celebrate.

pieratingsml

Today I will be making A Year of Pie‘s Rum Shoofly Buttered Rum Shoofly Mini and also Sour Cream Apple which I had hoped to make at Christmas but was just feeling lousy that week so I didn’t. It has been on my mind every since Jill posted about it. Sour Cream Apple

Happy Pie Day!

loveCareHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

.
.
.

Copyright © 2007-2013. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
13 Responses to “National Pie Day Jan 23rd, 2013 #ilovepie”


  1. 1 rhapsodyinbooks January 23, 2013 at 7:38 am

    Oh I hope you have a very happy and tasty pie day!!!

  2. 3 bermudaonion(Kathy) January 23, 2013 at 9:59 am

    Your love of pie is second to none!

    • 4 Care January 23, 2013 at 10:22 am

      Oh, I don’t know about that. I do think pie love has surpassed the cupcake craze but maybe because I NOTICE the pies and don’t care about cake.

  3. 5 Ti January 23, 2013 at 10:40 am

    Did I ever share with you my 6-month stint at Marie Callender’s??? I was a pie professional. Yep. Gluten Free pies suck though. I’ve made many and always hope for the best but they truly suck so I am often without pie.

    • 6 Care January 23, 2013 at 1:04 pm

      No! You’ve not told me! Awesome. I knew I liked you.
      I have made only two GF pies and the first was really pretty good. The second time I attempted the same recipe, the crust just shrunk and didn’t hold up. Not sure what happened but I will try more and The Year of PIes has quite a few recipes. One of my besties is GF.

  4. 7 Jeanne January 23, 2013 at 10:42 am

    Pie-baking sounds like an excellent way to warm up today. I’m glad you don’t have any other special talents, like the pie-maker on Pushing Daisies…
    Here’s a visual joke about pie: http://notanecromancer.tumblr.com/post/41020783511/madskittlez29

    • 8 Care January 23, 2013 at 1:05 pm

      Funny. I couldn’t get it to play but figured it out. We know a very very long joke about pie but it needs to be told by the one person who is really good at telling it. By which I mean NOT me.

  5. 9 lakesidemusing January 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Happy Pie Day… enjoy all the deliciousness!!

  6. 11 Laurie C January 23, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    Can you teach the secret of the perfect pie crust on your blog one of these days, please? ;) Preferably before 3/14/15? It’s the only thing holding me back.

    • 12 Care January 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

      Oh dear. I have a hard time answering this. I don’t really have a perfect pie crust. I’m not consistent. I don’t practice crusts enough or switch up the recipes and methods so I am not really qualified to be a pie teacher. The secret is COLD, light touch and just don’t worry about ‘perfect’. Or just go ahead and ‘cheat’: use the pre-made roll up kind – I think it is fine. I do not however ever ever ever rec the frozen crust already in the aluminum pie tins.

  7. 13 Melissa January 24, 2013 at 11:50 am

    Your pies are absolutely amazing! You’ve inspired me to try making a new one too!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

Shark Week Baby!! @abbeyshea

Goodreads

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

