A Mango-Shaped Space

Thoughts  amssbywm A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy Moss, LittleBrown&Company 2003, 218 pages

A BOOKIES Book Club Book.

Well. I really did love this book as much as I realized that I was not quite the target audience for it. It is written and appropriate (I assume?) for a middle school aged reader.

A young girl, a middle-child, is diagnosed with SYNESTHESIA after managing to hide it from her family and teachers for many years. Once realizing that she is not alone with this condition, she embraces it and feels special rather than ‘odd’. However, she tends to allow this new found discovery of her ‘specialness’ to take over her attentions to the detriment of her best friend, her family and her beloved cat, Mango.

It is a lovely story of self-discovery and growth. I thought the story was well-developed; the plot proceeded on cue – a problem, a discovery, conflict and resolution. Likable characters and a balanced emotional touch.

Three slices of pie. I’ve actually made a mango pie once. It was very similar to a peach pie in flavor and consistency.

Today is book club but a few members are calling in sick, the weather is frightfully windy but thankfully not snowstormy and so venue has been moved closer to home and lower in key. Should be a nice affair rather than our raucous and rowdy tradition. Too bad but better fitting my mood.

Happy Low-Key-Days-of-Thoughtful-Moments-Between-Christmas-and-New-Years-When-All-I-Want-To-Do-Is-Listen-to-Music-Count-Downs, Write-Goals-&-Affirmations, and Summarize-My-Year-of-Book-Reading!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
11 Responses to “A Mango-Shaped Space”


  1. 1 BermudaOnion December 27, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I love Wendy Mass’s books so I bet I’d like this one too.

  2. 3 aartichapati December 27, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    Ooh, mango pie! I have never had a version of mango pie that is similar to peach pie – do we perhaps have different mango pie recipes? Interesting – mine includes cream cheese, mango pulp and some gelatin.

  3. 5 Debi December 27, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    I really have to get around to reading this book one day. Glad to hear you enjoyed it! Gray has synesthsia (he smells sounds). I also must find a mango pie recipe–the kiddos would love me forever!

  4. 8 Jenny December 27, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    I’ve always wished I had synesthesia. It sounds very cool. But alas, my senses report to me in the usual way.

  5. 10 Chris December 27, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    I have this one and I’ve been wanting to read it forever! In fact, I think my copy came from Nancy :) You just made me want to read it even MORE!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

This awesome bookmark made special for me by my friend @reedonn jumped out of a box and tried to hide behind an empty bookcase (which just got loaded before I thought of taking this pic)

Goodreads

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

