Just Lettin’ You Know…

Starting a full-time “gots-to-be-somewhere” routine kind of job on an every day basis after almost 9 years is TOUGH.

I wake up thinking of things to say to teenagers. O.M.G. (make it stop!)

I have attempted a weekend of not thinking about it at all and now am sitting here, Sunday evening, planning tomorrow’s topic of discussion/instruction. And grading papers. And developing a grading TRACKING system!!* What is wrong with me? 

(The worst part is wondering if they are all tweeting my photo as {hashtagsymbol=#}+theawfulsubfromhell.)

And then sometimes. SOMETIMES!  I actually smile that they might be doing that.

SIGH…

SO, I’m thinking about trying an internet scavenger hunt. If anyone is still reading this far into the post and you know of such internet-scavenger-hunt concepts and ideas, would you let me know?  Thanks.

Happy First Week of December.

(Notice I am not exclamation-point-ing that sentiment.)

exasperation

AAAAGGGgghhhhhHHHHHHHH!!!

* Actually this is a good idea since I would like to teach some advanced Excel skills next week.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
19 Responses to “Just Lettin’ You Know…”


  1. 1 bermudaonion(Kathy) December 2, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    I’m not sure that age group tweets all that much – your more likely to show up on Facebook! lol

  2. 3 Jeanne December 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Tumblr–and you’re only referred to obliquely as in “this is how I fool the sub I’m reading (photo of kid hiding a phone in a book cover). Is this an extended sub job or a “gots-to-be-somewhere” job for the longer run?

  3. 5 Ti December 2, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I can see why the routine would be hard to get used to. It’s hard to be great all the time :)

  4. 7 lifesfatefulway December 2, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    OK,Girlfriend……You’ll soon know each one well,and decide to hold their feet to the fire anyway! Keep them guessing AND working! They’ll love you as WE DO!! LUCK & LOVE

  5. 8 softdrink December 2, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Teaching is exhausting…it’s that “gotta be ON” thing. Good luck with week 2!

  6. 11 Laurie C December 3, 2012 at 6:55 am

    Give them a week or two to adjust to the idea that the sub is actually going to make them learn something even if it kills her! (I get the impression that most kids see a sub and think “break time”.)

  7. 12 Trish December 3, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Reaches out hand for you to hold. I was only in the classroom for a semester and I would wake up with a feeling of anxiety that I was to be in front of those students teaching them. You are an awesome lady Care and I know that each day will get easier.

  8. 13 Ruthiella December 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Hang in there!

  9. 14 Debi December 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    I have a very hard time believing any of your students are calling you the sub from hell, darlin’. *HUGS SWEET CARE*

    • 15 Care December 4, 2012 at 4:20 pm

      Part of me thinks I am not doing a good job if at least one kid doesn’t think this. Trust me, I have heard multiple “I hate this class” and they do mean the teacher.

  10. 16 Jenners December 4, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    I think, despite it all, you’re kind of getting into your new job. : )

  11. 18 Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) December 5, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Congrats on the new job, and hope the craziness eases soon!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

#ilovepie

Goodreads

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

