The Casual Vacancy

Thoughts  The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling, eBook/iPadKindleApp, Little Brown 2012, 506 pages

I read this under protest because I really wasn’t interested AND I thought we were trying to only read cheap (ie NOT hardback) books in bookclub. I didn’t want to purchase the eBook* but I had to since the BOOK book was pricier.

Realizing I was being unreasonable, I started to read. Two weeks later, I was mired in characters with few redeeming values – JUST AS I WAS EXPECTING. I didn’t want to read about politics and pettiness! Realizing some more that perhaps I was being prejudiced, I let myself go with the flow and get into the story.

Three-fourths in and I was impressed with Rowling’s characterization. I was also feeling a smugness, an impression that the author was possibly quite proud of a few brilliant phrases. Whatever it is – my prejudice? Or JKR being too clever (again, is that me or her?), this book did not transport me fully into the story.

Until the last climatic scenes.

Even as I noticed that the pace picks up considerably, I was sucker-punched with emotions that had me trying NOT to cry and then sniffing and tearing-up and gulping. I was crying pretty good as quietly as I could because I was in the car and missing all the fun and familiar scenes of driving into downtown Kansas City. I had to stop 4 pages til the end and save them due to not wanting to be sitting in the car while the hotel valet waited for me to get out!

Which made those last pages a bit anticlimactic – – “uh, is that it?” Which I have to say was a good place and o.k. way to stop the story.

I give it 4 stars over 3 for making me cry.

I could bet that it was also because I was about to start this subbing job and knowing I would have get to work with teenagers. I was particularly struck by the thought about Barry being so good with people/teens; that the school counselor expressed the idea that these kinds should be required to work in high schools.

For other reviews, click this link to Firefly’s Book Blog Review Search Results.

I was also able to not take any print books with me on the Thanksgiving holiday (which I will chat about more later.)

MostHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
27 Responses to “The Casual Vacancy”


  1. 1 bermudaonion(Kathy) November 28, 2012 at 8:12 am

    I wasn’t crazy about this book. My book club discussed it last night and just about everyone felt the way I did. The British woman in our club plus one other member LOVED it.

  2. 3 Amanda November 28, 2012 at 9:19 am

    I really didn’t think I’d like it, but ended up loving it! So I’m happy to see it won you over at least a little by the end. :)

  3. 5 Ti November 28, 2012 at 9:58 am

    Interesting. I haven’t felt compelled to read this one at all, even though I loved the HP books. The only way I’d read it now is if someone picked it for book club, so I see how you were strong armed into reading it.

    • 6 Care November 28, 2012 at 5:49 pm

      Oh yes, I was grumpy. I even drove quite a distant to be grumpy about it at a B&N, to glare at it and it’s 30% off coupon and still couldn’t be convinced it was going to be worth the money. But everyone else in club was quite excited about reading it.

  4. 7 Leeswammes November 28, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Well, it seems that book worked better for you than you thought! I’ve got a copy, we’re going to read it for book club, too. I have no preconceptions. I don’t cry, ever, about books and I’m not about to start. Am I? :-)

  5. 9 softdrink November 28, 2012 at 10:51 am

    I’m still on the fence about whether or not to even read it.

  6. 11 Jeanne November 28, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I can’t believe it made you cry. The ending made me mad, mostly because I couldn’t believe Krystal would take the action she did.

    • 12 Care November 28, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      Yep, it ganged up on me somehow. Maybe it was all that misunderstood teenage angst and how it frightens me very very much. But you didn’t think it was believable, huh? I’m glad I don’t want to try to believe or not believe it.

  7. 13 Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) November 28, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it, and you never can tell what book is going to make you cry!

    • 14 Care November 28, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      I might tbr a book based on it making someone cry but I usually don’t recall that going in. I try to forget why I wanted to read something and go in as blind as possible.

  8. 15 Trisha November 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    Ehhhhhh, I cannot decide if I’m going to read this or not. It’s like a decision I just can’t make….

  9. 17 Jenners November 28, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    ACk …. you just reminded me I need to write my review of this book. It isn’t a book I think anyone will LOVE but I liked it and listened to all 15 or so hours on audio with no problem. It is definitely a Muggle book and there are a lot of unlikable characters. But I didn’t hate it. I didn’t cry though … even though I got a bit verklempt in the very end.

  10. 19 Laurie C November 28, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    It hasn’t made it onto my TBR list yet. I’ve read too many books that made me blub recently, including the very wonderful audio The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving, which I really need to write the review for.

  11. 21 Sheila (Book Journey) November 29, 2012 at 6:32 am

    Honestly, I am afraid of it. Oh its here… in my house.. on the shelf. But I am so afraid it will make me feel differently about JK…. I have adored her so long and found her to be brilliant.

  12. 23 Alex in Leeds November 29, 2012 at 7:56 am

    This does seem a book destined for book club attention. I think, on the whole, that puts me off as like you I am not keen on buying new hardbacks just to tick it off for the book club! Maybe I’ll flick through it when the hype has died down and the library copy is back on the shelves. I didn’t read Harry Potter so I’m still fairly open to Rowling as a novelist for grown ups but not in a rush to read her.

    • 24 Care November 29, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      Oh that’s right! I couldn’t check it out at the library because the waitlist was very long. Another reason I had to buy it.
      I just started the HP books this year. I need to read #5.

  13. 25 Melissa November 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    I’ve been avoiding this one because of all the reviews, but I have no doubt I will read it eventually.

  14. 27 lakesidemusing November 29, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I’m just not drawn to this at all and doubt I’ll be reading it any time soon… unless it ends up on my book club’s reading list, too!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Whiskey Sour. A REAL whiskey sour. SO good

Goodreads

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

