New To Me Books

Look what just walked in the door. Many of these are from Holly, one is from Jenners, the others are from people in my book club. Just more borrowed books to taunt the stack of books already in line to be read that have been loaned to me from friends…

From bottom to top: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson (I have never read him), Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (loved Gone Girl!), Muriel Barbery’s The Elegance of the Hedgehog (Love me a slick Europa any day), One Fifth Avenue by Candace Bushnell (why not?), Jeanette Winterson’s Lighthousekeeping, The Family Orchard by Nomi Eve, Yasunari Kawabata’s The Sound of the Mountain (never heard of it), The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides (Middlesex = brilliant), and Tolstoy and the Purple Chair (because I just read Anna K and purple is my favorite color)

Which should I be most excited about?
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
33 Responses to “New To Me Books”


  1. 1 Leeswammes November 14, 2012 at 6:05 am

    Nice haul! I have read a few of them, found Tolstoy a bit disappointing. I want to read The Marriage Plot, so why don’t YOU try that one first and let me know? :-)

    Have a good time with these books!

  2. 3 Laurie C (Bay State RA) November 14, 2012 at 6:23 am

    The Marriage Plot was excellent on audio, but you probably don’t want to hear about that! I still haven’t read Middlesex, or any of the others in your new pile except for A Walk in the Woods, which I read with a book club and enjoyed.

  3. 5 Sharli November 14, 2012 at 7:24 am

    I have not read any of them, so I would be excited too! Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on them. Enjoy!

  4. 7 Jeanne (@nonnecromancer) November 14, 2012 at 7:53 am

    I really liked The Elegance of the Hedgehog, but I think you have to be in the right mood for it–not too skeptical, and not intimidated, but sort of trusting, like you would go into a children’s book.

    • 8 Care November 14, 2012 at 8:20 am

      Yes, I’ve heard that this one is challenging on an intellectual level. My friend Holly thought it was fabulous so that is what I will go into it with. WHEN? I do not know.

  5. 9 BermudaOnion November 14, 2012 at 9:26 am

    I haven’t read any of them so I don’t know which one you should be the most excited about. I quit borrowing books because I can’t even make it through those I own. lol

  6. 11 Gavin November 14, 2012 at 9:53 am

    I loved Dark Places. Read Flynn’s first two novels before Gone Girl came out and went ballistic. Bill Bryson is always wonderful. I didn’t care for Elegance of the Hedgehog…

    • 12 Care November 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

      I might take Dark Places on my trip for the Holiday. maybe. I do love to hear about a book that has both good and bad endorsements – makes me curious to know where I will be.

  7. 13 Ti November 14, 2012 at 9:58 am

    I really liked The Marriage Plot but you will LOVE A Walk in the Woods! It is so damn funny. You will want to buy backpacking gear and head off to the trails when you are finished. I did! I did it for over a year after reading that one!

  8. 17 Debi November 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Well, I own the bottom three on that pile but ain’t read a one of them. In fact, I’ve never even heard of a few of those. So yeah, I’m of zero help as I’ve no idea which you should be most excited about.

  9. 19 boardinginmyforties November 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    I’ve not read any of these yet so I am very excited about all of them! Enjoy all of your new books!

  10. 21 Rory O'Connor November 15, 2012 at 2:23 am

    Bill Bryson is one of the funniest non fiction writers around, I loved A Walk in the Woods. The Marriage Plot is also excellent, though Middlesex is definitely his best work.

  11. 25 Jenners November 15, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    Glad the book arrived safely. I’d jump into Flynn or Bryson!

  12. 26 Melissa November 16, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Every Bushnell book I’ve read has absolutely bombed for me (sadly I read three). I loved Walk in the Woods, read it if you’re in the mood for funny and sarcastic. I’ve heard fantastic things about Tolstoy and the Purple Chair. Read Marriage if you’re in the mood for slow, contemplative.

  13. 28 samstillreading November 17, 2012 at 2:12 am

    Hmm, I have read a few and I would be excited by:
    – the Bill Bryson (love his work)
    – One Fifth Avenue (more than just SATC)
    – Gillian Flynn (just because I haven’t read any of hers)
    – The Marriage Plot (quite interesting)

  14. 30 Karen K. November 17, 2012 at 7:34 am

    Bill Bryson!! Totally opposite Tolstoy, which may be exactly what you need right now. It’s a really fun read.

  15. 32 Trish November 18, 2012 at 10:26 am

    I loved Elegance of the Hedgehog. I listened to it but would really like to read it. Reminds me I need to put it on my Christmas list! Hope you enjoy.

    I also have Walk in the Woods on my shelf but haven’t gotten to it yet…

  16. 33 Nomi Eve November 20, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    Thanks for having my novel in your pile! I love many of those books — especially Middlesex. If you read my book, and have any questions, I am happy to answer. Best, and Happy Thanksgiving, Nomi Eve


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

This awesome bookmark made special for me by my friend @reedonn jumped out of a box and tried to hide behind an empty bookcase (which just got loaded before I thought of taking this pic)

Goodreads

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

