This Is How You Lose Her

Thoughts  This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Díaz, Penguin Audi0 2012, 5 hrs14 min, narrated by the author

From goodreads.com:

On a beach in the Dominican Republic, a doomed relationship flounders. In the heat of a hospital laundry room in New Jersey, a woman does her lover’s washing and thinks about his wife. In Boston, a man buys his love child, his only son, a first baseball bat and glove. At the heart of these stories is the irrepressible, irresistible Yunior, a young hardhead whose longing for love is equaled only by his recklessness–and by the extraordinary women he loves and loses: artistic Alma; the aging Miss Lora; Magdalena, who thinks all Dominican men are cheaters; and the love of his life, whose heartbreak ultimately becomes his own. In prose that is endlessly energetic, inventive, tender, and funny, the stories in This Is How You Lose Her lay bare the infinite longing and inevitable weakness of the human heart. They remind us that passion always triumphs over experience, and that “the half-life of love is forever.”

I really enjoyed this. Díaz is an impressive talent.

Thank you, Lakeside Musing for offering me the opportunity to listen to this collection. I intend to continue the sharing spirit by passing it along to Laurie at Bay State Advisory.

RATING: 

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 Responses to “This Is How You Lose Her”


  1. 1 Jeanne (@nonnecromancer) November 13, 2012 at 8:45 am

    So love is a weakness? I don’t care for collections that are supposed to be all insightful and deep but are ultimately pessimistic.

  2. 3 Coffee & a BookChick (@CoffeeBookChick) November 13, 2012 at 9:09 am

    I have heard so much about this book that I cannot wait to pick this one up! I do need to head to the store this week, so perhaps this book will be my excuse, ahem reason, for stopping in :)

  3. 5 Trisha November 13, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I really need to read a Diaz….

    • 6 Care November 13, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      I like him. I heard him speak, too, at the Boston Book Fest! Which often raises an author’s credibility for absolutely no credible reason, really.

  4. 7 Laurie C (Bay State RA) November 13, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Thanks!!! I’m excited to be getting this! I will have to figure out who to pass it on to next. (Or you can tell me if you want it back after I listen.) I thought it would be longer, but I’m not sure why.

  5. 8 Kailana November 14, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I really want to read Diaz. I haven’t had a chance yet.

  6. 10 lakesidemusing November 14, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Diaz is certainly an impressive talent and I’m glad you enjoyed this collection. It definitely grew on me the longer I listened – I’ll have a review ready to go next week, fingers crossed. I hope Laurie likes it, too!

  7. 14 Jenners November 15, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Well that was succint! I still need to read The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. I keep avoiding it for some reason but I don’t know why.

  8. 16 Cassie December 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Ou, I wonder if I would have felt better or worse about this book if I listened rather than read.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Fun mail!

Goodreads

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

