Paul is Undead

Thoughts  Paul is Undead by Alan Goldsher, Blackstone Audio 2010, 7 hours 50 minutes

I have Literate HouseWife to thank for the suggestion to listen to this to get the full range of talent that is “narrator Simon Vance”. And then I find out that Kailana read this book, too. The Guilded Earlobe says exactly what I would say, so I’ll let him :

A hilarious novel that probably would have worked even better if I was more of a Beatles fan. Simon Vance’s narration itself makes this title worth a listen.

I had wishlisted this at the Audible.com site and recently, it went on sale. Just in time for RIP VII.

So I purchased and started listening right away. I just had to find out if this Simon Vance dude was as good as everyone says!

He is. And oh, what a funny odd gross story this is.

In a quick nutshell?  It’s an oral history of the Beatles as zombies. Actually, Ringo isn’t. Paul insisted that at least one band member have blood pumping through their veins. (It IS cool that Ringo is a ninja. Yoko is, too, in case you are curious but don’t think you’ll read/listen. Oh, and Mick Jagger is a Zombie Hunter.)

Recommended for any Beatles aficionado with a high gross-out tolerance and a wicked sense of humor.

Four slices of pie. PIE ON FIRE!!!  (chapter 4)

“So I can’t interest you in a flaming pie, John Winston Lennon?
No, you can’t interest me in a flaming pie, you sparkle-eyed wench.”

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
22 Responses to “Paul is Undead”


  1. 1 Melissa October 19, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    I was wondering if this one was any good. It sounds pretty funny.

  2. 3 Laurie C October 19, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    Nice hashtagging! I’ve been forgetting lately. You are making me want to cave in and get an Audible subscription now.

  3. 6 bermudaonion(Kathy) October 19, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I do love Simon Vance, but zombies aren’t my thing, so I’m not sure about this one.

  4. 8 Ti October 19, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    What an odd story! I like the idea though. I have yet to hear Vance read a book but everyone raves about him. I did listen to a short clip once to get a feel for his voice and I thought it was sublime.

  5. 10 Ruthiella October 19, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    I think the title comes from a rumor that was going around in the 60’s that Paul was dead and all sorts of fans felt that the cover of (because Paul had no shoes on) and song lyrics in Abby Road were hinting at this or something. I am not much of a Beatles fan either, but I do remember reading about the “Paul is Dead” rumour somewhere.

  6. 12 Leah October 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    The title is “Paul is Undead” (as opposed to one of the other Beatles) because there is an urban legend that Paul died and was replaced by a look-alike in 1966. There are apparently clues in the band’s music and the Abbey Road cover art: According to the theory, the band members are dressed and arranged like a funeral possession, with Paul as the corpse without shoes on. There’s a whole wikipedia page devoted to the theory: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_is_dead

    I read this book a few years ago, and I really didn’t like it. It has some good facts in it, but I didn’t find it very funny. I felt like it was trying to be funny, but perhaps this particular brand of humor just isn’t to my taste.

    • 13 Care October 19, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      I do think I would not have enjoyed it as much if I only read it as opposed to having it performed, ifyouwill, by Mr. Vance.

      I recall way back in the day… I really was a nerdy naive little kid and my cousin only one year older berated me quite harshly as only cousins can for not even knowing that Paul McCartney started a band after the Beatles broke up. He was going on and on and on about The Wings and I didn’t know any of it, had little music knowledge (must have been in the mid-70s?) and he couldn’t stop making fun of me for being so out of it. I always think of him when I think of Paul McCartney.

      Thanks for the link and info. :)

  7. 14 Jenners October 19, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I too have heard how amazing and awesome this Simon Vance is. I’ll have to check it out … though it sounds beyond weird.

  8. 16 Vasilly October 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    This sounds pretty hilarious. I’m not a Beatles fan so I don’t think I’ll listen to it. I will find something else narrated by Vance though.

  9. 20 softdrink October 19, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    I never finished this one! I blame it on my general ambivalence towards all things Beatle.

    • 21 Care October 20, 2012 at 8:44 am

      Yea, I had a moment that I decided to not give it up and push on and enjoy it. It was only 8 hours – compared to the King books I have listened to this was a stroll in a park.

  10. 22 stacybuckeye October 22, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    What fun! I like the Beatles a lot but wouldn’t call myself a rabid fan or anything. Maybe just a rabid enthusiast.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,491 other followers

Twitter Updates

Oscar #OscartheGriff

Goodreads

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,491 other followers

