Dueling Monsters

I am participating in this year’s Dueling Monsters event, sponsored by The Estella Society and hosted by Softdrink and @TriniCapini. You all know that I’m bad about explaining this stuff when the source is usually the best route to learn more. Just click from the button above or the last two underlined links…

Hannibal Lector vs Patrick Bateman

I have already read Red Dragon which makes me a #monstermash (that’s the Twitter hashtag for this year’s event) overachiever. YAY ME!

And am just about to spend September’s Audible credit on American Psycho and listen while I mow the lawn today.

If AP didn’t happen to be on the 1001 Books To Read Before You Die, I probably would skip. And I do believe AP has appeared on a few BANNED BOOKS lists, yes? Of course, both are RIP worthy. I told my husband we might have to schedule a horrorfest-movie-night and watch these. He said, ‘Sure, ok. whatever.’

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

12 Responses to “Dueling Monsters”


  1. 1 Andi (@estellasrevenge) September 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Glad you’re joining! I’m definitely on Team American Psycho. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. 3 Ti September 20, 2012 at 11:51 am

    I’m on board as well. I’ve read Red Dragon before, but might need to revisit it if I have time. Otherwise, I plan to be Team Bateman.

  3. 5 Trish September 20, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    I don’t want to be anywhere near your house while you’re watching these two. Will you try to squeeze in IT as well?

    And yes, I think that Bateman might take the cake this year. Only because he is THAT awful.

    • 6 Care September 21, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      Actually, I’m not sure if it will happen now that I’m not sure where to rent movies. Cancelled Netflix and have no idea if those Red Box places will have?

  4. 7 Kailana September 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    I was hoping to join in, but my reading is just depressing lately. :(

  5. 9 softdrink September 21, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    After reading American Psycho, there is NO WAY I am watching the movie. Same goes for IT. There are some things I just don’t need to see brought to life, so to speak.

  6. 10 litandlife September 22, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I’ve seen both of the movies but never read either of the books. Sadly (I think) I’m not going to have time to read either one.

  7. 11 Michelle September 23, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    If you are able to find copies of the movies, let me know because I haven’t had any success. They aren’t on Netflix Streaming or iTunes, and even though I have no idea if I can watch them in their entirety, I certainly want to try. I need to get to Red Dragon. I figure it will be the easiest book out of the three (including It).

  8. 12 Jenners September 24, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    Seriously … AP is on the 1001 Books to Read Before You Die? Wow.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,414 other followers

Twitter Updates

Our Massachusetts garden features these lovelies, of the #Kansas variety. The purple ones have failed to emerge. @abbeyshea

Goodreads

September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,414 other followers

