Yep, I’m Around Here Somewhere

Ok, I don’t think I have really given my iPad WordPress app a good college try but here goes. I am just itchin’ to post something since I have this odd sense that you (somebody, anybody) might be wondering where I am…

I have a review ‘in the hopper’ for The Uninvited Guests and had every intention of posting it last week but. BUT. I am on vacation. I DID bring my laptop – – but I forgot the power cord and it needs to be charged. So, I am stuck with the iPad. (first world problem)

I am FINALLY back to reading! this hosting family and then going on vacay messed up my routine and I couldn’t find a book to commit to so I gave up.

The fam members went home, we stayed at the boat, and I was able to devote some time to Sarah Vowell’s TAKE THE CANNOLI. I liked it. I enjoyed it very much. I will review and decide later if it was a high three slicer or four pie read. I like her.

AND?

I will try to post The Uninvited Guests before Monday. And I will review Paperback Thriller. And Cannoli. And if I can read the other book I have with me (A River Runs Through It), that, too.

Meanwhile, I miss you, too! I hope to get back home to a mailbox of books because I rediscovered bookmooch and was able to request the first two books of Harry Potter.

I just saw a trailer of The Great Gatsby and Leo has convinced me that I must know the story better before I see that flick.

And… And. Well, that’s it. Here goes. Thanks again. ;)

32 Responses to “Yep, I’m Around Here Somewhere”


  1. 1 Kailana June 1, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Oh, right, you have a boat! Note to self: Go visit Care! haha Glad to see you are around. I was wondering what happened to you, actually. You were quiet, but you commented on my blog so at least I knew you were alive. Now I know the rest of the story…

    I don’t know about books, but I did send you another postcard. I have to go buy more…

  2. 3 Jeanne June 1, 2012 at 11:41 am

    In the summer (and it’s June!) I don’t worry about occasional blogger silence. It’s good to get unplugged every now and then.

  3. 5 Amanda June 1, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    I hope you’re having fun while you’re on your vacation! :)

  4. 7 Ti June 1, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I just finished Gatsby last week or the week before. It was really good in a lovely way… not really an exciting, plot driven way, but you know how classics are.

  5. 9 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) June 1, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Your vacation sounds so awesome. I hope you like the HP books. They are some of my favorites, but so much of that is tied into when I read them and all those sorts of things.

    I want to re-read Gatsby before the movie comes out too!

  6. 11 softdrink June 1, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Three cheers for vacation!

    • 12 Care June 1, 2012 at 4:00 pm

      Hip hip HOORAY! (of course, I am spolied, my life IS a vacation. Or? All I am doing is cleaning the boat and drinking beer. What that MEANS, you can debate.)

  7. 13 bermudaonion (Kathy) June 1, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    It looks like the app worked well for you. When I tried it on my blog, the formatting was wonky. Enjoy the rest of your vacation!

  8. 15 Trisha June 1, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Vacation: yay! Cannoli: yay! Yep, that’s the extent of my “intelligent” thought. :)

  9. 16 Jenny June 2, 2012 at 7:55 am

    That Gatsby trailer was so cracked-out crazy. I love it. I’m not totally sure about any of the actors they cast, but I’m willing to be convinced.

  10. 18 Debi June 2, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Aren’t you sweet to worry about us worrying about you! But you just don’t stress about posting…just enjoy the heck out of your vacation!!!

    • 19 Care June 2, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      Especially when a PC is RIGHT HERE and I can’t use it! Vacay is over – just returned home. I need to start laundry (and then a nap)

  11. 20 Vasilly June 2, 2012 at 11:44 am

    I was wondering what was going on with you! Glad to hear that you’ve been enjoying yourself.

  12. 22 Jenners June 2, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    I just forget about blogging when on vacation. It helps me recharge my “blogging batteries.” Take the Cannoli is one of the only Vowell books I haven’t read yet. Did you listen to it on audio? You’ve got to hear her narrate her own books to get the full experience. Her voice is rather unusual.

    • 23 Care June 3, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Well Jenners, it depends on the kind of vacation – this was a few days on the boat with zero plans. which meant that I hoped to read and do whatever. If it had been a destination vacation, I wouldn’t have been so concerned with blogging, probably.

      No, I have not listened to her read but I have seen her in interviews.

  13. 24 Bookfool, aka Nancy June 2, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Happy Vacation! We just got back from a brief trip, ourselves. Saw a pie book and thought of you!

  14. 26 lakesidemusing June 3, 2012 at 10:01 am

    Lot’s of us seem to fade in and out of blogging over the summer months – enjoy your vacation. Wonder if forgetting the power cord is Freudian…

  15. 28 Marie June 3, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    :-) there’s lots of reasons to get distracted with blogging :-) take it easy!

  16. 30 Teeni June 4, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Hi! I love those vacations where no destination is planned. It is so relaxing and spontaneous. Hope you get to do more of that this summer! :)

  17. 31 Lisa June 6, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    I heard Sarah Vowell talking on one of the NPR shows (maybe Commonwealth Club?) and that woman is really interesting. And really funny!

    • 32 Care June 7, 2012 at 8:07 am

      I’ve only seen a clip or two of her on The Daily Show but yes, she is or was? a regular feature on one of the NPR shows. I don’t listen to NPR (shocker?!) but should, I suppose. I struggle to be a ‘listener’ if I’m not in a car driving long distances, I prefer to listen to music or sports.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

The Oscar and Esther Show to bring canine version of The Wizard of Oz to the stage. Happy Halloween

Goodreads

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

