Mailbox & Monday

My own kind of status updates for a Monday in May… 

#LETTERYEAR  <— my hashtag for my 2012 goal to write a letter every day.

I’m not too strict and I got lax in April – I know I wrote a letter on April 19 but failed to write WHO!  eek…  (If it was you, please write back and refer to my letter on 4-19, will ya?!) But overall, I am pleased, very pleased, with my success to date on this project.

I sent 61 letters in April for a cumulative total of 242 in 2012. I received 14 pieces of Fun-Mail in April. This month, I intend on writing my Senators to express my wishes for what they have to vote on down there in Washington.

#BOOKSintheMAILBOX

I received a new to me book by Mary Roach:  Packing for Mars!   Thank you Erin. I hope to start this after I read Cranford. Unless I get to Before I Go To Sleep which is calling to me. Both would satisfy challenge requirements. (Roach is on my authors-to-get-to and the other one has been loaned to me; the loaner is asking if I’ve read it yet…)

#WHATIamREADING 

Book club selected Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell and I really hope somebody loves it. I, myself, am having a tough time getting into it after the zoomfest of reading 11/22/63. It’s not bad, it’s just not captivating and at this time of summer fun, I’m a scatterbrain full of must-do & want-to to-do list conflicts. (Say that 5 times real fast.)

I have a pretty hardcover book of Cranford, I have the free eBook copy so that I can look up words and/or so I can’t avoid having it with me AND I am actually toying with the concept of looking for the audio version!  Overkill?

#AUDIObooks

It’s lawn-mowing time! I need an audio book suggestion, please. I can’t decide…

 <– from inhabitat.com; I would love to try one of these.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 Responses to “Mailbox & Monday”


  1. 1 Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) May 7, 2012 at 10:46 am

    That’s the kind of lawn mower I need! ;) Have a great week.

  2. 3 Jenners May 7, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    I love me some Mary Roach. I could not be convinced to try that bike/mower for $500!

  3. 5 Debi May 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    242?!!! Care, you are downright impressive!!! Me? I bet I’ve sent 8 letters this year, and 6 of them were of the “pleading with my representatives to represent me” type.

  4. 7 Trish May 8, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I’m trying to imagine how loud you’d need to make your audiobook to hear it over the lawnmower! ;)

    • 8 Care May 8, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Really!?!?! I think Sheila of Book Journey always listens to a book when she mows the lawn – I’ll have to ask her… I do have a loud lawnmower. :(

  5. 9 Bookfool, aka Nancy May 8, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    Oh, I love that lawnmower, but it’s $500? That’s crazy.

    I can’t believe how many letters you’ve written. I’ve written a handful of postcards. That’s IT. So out of the habit.

  6. 11 Kailana May 9, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    I am not sure I would be able to hear an audiobook over a lawnmower… I should try…

  7. 13 Melissa Mc May 14, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    I read Mary Roach’s Stiff and loved it! Hope Mars is equally as good.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    • 14 Care May 21, 2012 at 8:38 am

      I’m tempted to move this up to be NEXT-BOOK. I’m ready for some NF and something not set in England. (I’ve read entirely too many books lately set there.)

  8. 15 stacybuckeye May 23, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    I love that you are writing to your senators!!! Everyone should do it, including me. I’ve only called twice and felt somehow empowered both times :)


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

#ilovepie

Goodreads

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

