Archive for May 4th, 2012

1Q84

Thoughts  1Q84 by Haruki Murakami – translated from the Japanese by Jay Rubin and Philip Gabriel, Alfred A Knopf 2011, 925 pages.

I was reading this as part of a readalong last January. I think I am the only one to have finished it.

In mid-February, I posted about completing Book Two and though curious how it would end for Tengo and GreenPeas, I was doubtful that I would ever return to it.

But I did!  Blame it all on being curious about it and knowing I had invested so much time on it already AND so many of you liked it …   I am most proud of myself for completing a chunkster. In fact, it gave me the courage to tackle King’s 11/22/63 (review of that coming soon.)

But back to 1Q84… Perhaps I was in a bad mood for this. Or maybe it was too long? or it’s possible that Murakami and I just are not meant to get along.

I was bored most of the book. I was annoyed that the loose ends never tied up. I was only ‘hohum’ about the ending. And despite you all telling me that ____(insert another HM title)____ is awesome and I really should try to read ____(something else by HM)______, I don’t think I ever will.

There are just too many books in the world I want to read and I am a tiny bit upset that I wasted my time on this one.

At least I can say, “I read 1Q84.”

Two slices of moon pie.   (Again, two stars in goodreads.com means ‘it was OK.’ NOT that it stunk. You might love it – many people have.)

Sam Still Reading loved it. So did Ti of Book Chatter. Check here for other book blogger reviews courtesy of Fyrefly’s Search.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Introducing Aurelia the Bernese mt (crazy) dog who is playing host to the Oscar & Esther Show for the next few (many) weeks. Did I mention she is exuberant?! Yikes...

Goodreads

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers