Where been? Have I

Poetry, for me, is a playing with words. Is playing with words. Word play.

“… the apprehension of a poem is a sensuous mental activity.”  

- Molly Peacock, pg 3 of How to Read a Poem

I had big plans for today, heavy laden with tasks, with ‘must-dos’. But all along, I’ve been reminiscent* that I have a poetry post due. While I mowed the lawn, I toyed with a rhyming ditty. While writing my daily letter(s), I jotted little rhyming ditties. I even attempted weighty thoughts, hoping the words would align into something worthy of sharing. (I don’t think I quite got the spark, unfortunately.)

Here’s that dittying of which I mentioned:

Lilacs are purple, tulips are pink.
Poems are astounding, designed to make one think.

If tulips are pink, what flowers are teal?
Poems jolt emotions, to make one feel.

I have been aware that April is Poetry Month and I have seen its mention many places. Every time I encounter a poem, I gave a little high-five to the universe, “Yay, a poem for poetry month!”, and yet, here it is, THE day to post for Read More Blog More and I’m finally sitting down to write my post.

Confession Time. I borrowed Peacock’s Poetry book from the library about 4 weeks ago and today is the first time I’ve even opened it. For shame. It might even be due (overdue) and I owe late fees. I’m really not sure.

Molly opens her book by describing how much joy she found in the fact that the word joy has an O in the middle. And how astonishing it is that the word ‘circle’ does not have an O. I could be friends with this woman. I should probably just buy the darn book.

“if you have form’d a circle to go into,
Go into it yourself, and see how you would do.”

- William Blake from “Gnomic Verses ii: To God”

I’ve been reading a lot lately. I listened to Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild (on CD, in my car**) and finished 1Q84 by Murakami. Just so you know, in case you don’t make it back for my reviews; I was most conflicted about Into the Wild and I thought 1Q84 was only OK. Yep, that means two stars. I don’t think I will go out of my way to read any thing else by this author.  You know the ol’ argument “Too many books, too little time” and I can’t waste time trying to figure him out and whether or not I *should* like his stuff.

And READ-A-THON! I felt guilty not participating. And yet, I probably read more pages of books this past weekend than any other prior read-a-thon ever. That’s guilt for ya.

What else?  I have book club this Thursday. I’m the CHOOSER or presentor-of-the-choices this month and here’s what I think I am proposing: Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, and A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean. I keep toying with the idea of adding Fifty Shades of Grey***  to the list but I’m afraid that is what they will choose. And we will all read it anyway, I think. Thus, it shouldn’t be a book club choice. My opinion.

What does any of this have to do with poetry? Not a damn thing.

“Our sense inarticulacy in the face of the most articulate art, a helplessness in its presence – coupled with a sureness of our attachment to it even though we don’t know why – can bewitch us.”

- Molly Peacock, pg 4 of How to Read a Poem


Not a damn thing. How do we make poetry out of every day have-to-dos?
Lu asks, in her post from the weekend telling us to get ready for today:
#3) Where do you get your poetry? Do you read poetry in books, primarily online, in magazines?
I won the free gift from the Read-More-Blog-More committee last month, The Day the World Ends by Ethan Coen. I have yet to open it. Haven’t even cracked the cover. But THANKS!  I just haven’t gotten to it yet!!!   :)
I find my poetry here there and anywhere. I mentioned that one of my latest reads was FULL of poetry: The Invention of Clouds and it was a most unexpected pleasure. But I don’t seek it out. Or maybe, I do. Just by participating in this event, I’m recognizing the possibility — the opportunity of poetry.
Yep, I think I will buy Molly’s book.
Finally, pink tulips:  

Can we conceive what humanity would be if it did not know the flowers?  ~Maurice Maeterlinck

* Can I be ‘reminiscent’? or was the DAY reminiscent? All this thinking hurts my brain.

** My attempt to “Go Audio” and I completely screw it up. I was SUPPOSED TO download something to my iPhone. Sigh…

*** Everyone I know in “REAL LIFE” has asked me if I’ve read Fifty Shades of Grey. I have not. Funny, I have yet to see a review of it here in my book-blogosphere. But that only proves that I never open my Google Reader.
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

33 Responses to “Where been? Have I”


  1. 1 Kailana April 24, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    I have the Peacock book… I have read the first chapter… oops!

  2. 3 Snowball April 25, 2012 at 12:39 am

    You were “cognisant of”
    The day was “reminiscent of”
    (sorry, recovering grammar nazi, here)

    Cute dittying. Although some poets claim that their masterpieces sprang from them fully formed, most had to work and rework to get to where they were satisfied.

  3. 5 Debi April 25, 2012 at 6:40 am

    i totally lost count of how many times you made me smile in this post…suffice it to say, it was a big number! :D

  4. 7 BermudaOnion April 25, 2012 at 7:55 am

    I haven’t seen a review of Fifty Shades of Grey in my Reader either. When it was first making the news, my MIL called me and asked me if I’d read it. I thought she meant Between Shades of Gray so I said yes! lol

    • 8 Care April 25, 2012 at 8:09 am

      Huh, this is strange to me. Seriously, I’ve had 4 or 5 people ask me if I’ve read it yet, and these are people I don’t usually talk books with so maybe it is being ignored by us ‘book-knowledgeable’ types? Which sounds more elitist than I mean.

  5. 9 Jeanne April 25, 2012 at 9:45 am

    I love the way this post meanders from one idea to the next without any of them seeming to be digressions. That’s kind of poetic!

  6. 11 Trish April 25, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I haven’t seen any actual reviews of 50 Shades either and haven’t even seen it mentioned outside of Twitter. But yet everyone “in real life” seems to be abuzz. I’m testing out a new book club and that was one of the suggestions for next month.

    I will be curious about your thoughts on Into the Wild. Especially why you felt conflicted.

    Hope you’re doing well Care. xo

  7. 13 boardinginmyforties April 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Sounds like you’ve had all kinds of bookish and reading goodness going on in your world!

  8. 15 Bookfool, aka Nancy April 25, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    I’ve read a little about 50 Shades — enough to know that I’m not interested. My online group chatted about it a bit because a couple of the members have read it.

    Nice to see all the poetry chatter, today. I went to my local coffee shop specifically to sit and read my poetry book, Light on the Concrete by Lucas Hunt (you might remember I asked Simon about Luc when we were in the coffee shop). I stopped to buy a book at my indie store, though, and the owner is Very Chatty. By the time I got to the coffee shop, it was only 40 minutes till closing time. There’s an art gallery above the coffee shop and I cannot go into the coffee shop without looking at the art, so I did. And, I came out with a glass windchime made from recycled bottle glass (so pretty). That left me 15 minutes till closing time. I bought a strawberry smoothie, read two poems and left.

    All of which is to say . . . maybe *tomorrow* will be a better coffee and poetry day. I’m going back to the coffee shop. I will try very hard not to come home with another work of art.

  9. 18 Belle Wong (@MsBookish) April 25, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    How I love this post, Care – it felt like poetry to me, like it has a poem’s soul. Very lovely, and made me smile.

    When we made our big move, I found a book of poems I wrote back when I was 13. Sat down and read it through and understood then and there why I stopped writing poetry back when I was a teenager :)

    I was just on Tasha’s blog, and she linked to her review of Fifty Shades of Grey that she posted back in December: http://heidenkind.blogspot.ca/2011/12/book-review-fifty-shades-of-grey-by-e-l.html As always, she’s a riot – the review is a fun read!

    I received your big square card in the mail today! My, you were brave to mail it, and I love that neither post offices in either of our countries bent it! It’s a little bit curled from being put in our little mail box, but that’s about it. It’s absolutely delightful!

    Sorry for all the exclamation marks. Not sure where they all came from but I don’t want to remove any of them – they feel just right (!)

    • 19 Care April 25, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      I found Tasha’s review today, too. I don’t think I need to read Fifty Shades now.

      There’s an article somewhere that we are turning into an excessive-exclam-user society and can blame it all on Twitter and Facebook. Oh well!!!!

  10. 20 Vasilly April 25, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Love this post, Care! I had such huge goals for poetry month and haven’t accomplished much of anything. Oh well. I’m not going to feel bad about sending boatloads of poetry books back to the library unread. ;-) Are your tulips really that bright?

  11. 22 aartichapati April 25, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    I feel like just the way you wrote up this post is visual poetry- so pretty and lyrical :-)

  12. 24 Melissa April 26, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Oh man, if 1Q84 was just okay then I don’t know if I want to dive in. It’s huge!

  13. 26 Jenners April 27, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Amusing you are! I love your rambling. And don’t give up on Murakami. In fact, I just reviewed his memoir, What To Talk About When I Talk About Running, and I would definitely recommend it.

  14. 28 parrish lantern April 27, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Ö – Rita Dove.

    Shape the lips to an “o”, say “a”.
    That’s “island”.

    One word of Swedish has changed the whole neighbourhood.
    When I looked up, the yellow house on the corner
    is a galleon stranded in flowers.Around it

    the wind. Even the high roar of a leaf-mulcher
    could be the horn-blast from a ship
    as it skirts the misted shoals.

    We don’t need much more to keep things going.
    Families complete themselves
    and refuse to budge from the present,
    the present extends its glass forehead to the sea
    (backyard breezes,scattered cardinals)

    and if,one evening,the house on the corner
    took off over the marshland,
    neither I nor my neighbour
    would be amazed. Sometimes

    a word is found so right it trembles
    at the slightest explanation.
    You start out with one thing, end
    up with another, and nothings
    like it used to be, not even the future.

  15. 30 Teeni April 28, 2012 at 8:51 am

    Just stopping in to say hello and to see where been you have! LOL. Just added you to my new blogroll too! It’s good to be back. And did I hear someone mention pie here?

  16. 32 Susan April 29, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Poetry *happy sigh* of course, being in Canada, I hadn’t really clued in that it was poetry month. I bought three books of poetry for my book box for my birthday – Mary Oliver’s Why I Rise Early in the Mornings, Seamus Heaney’s Circle and District (I think it’s the title…the box is hidden until mid-May….), and the complete poems of Nikki Giovanni. I find i go to the poetry section now and seek out books on poetry, and I still feel i am not reading enough of it. But when I say to people that I write poetry (and I do), they all say they hate reading it! I think it depends on finding the right poem, the right poet, and – like your lovely post describes – the way the word arrives, makes a spark in our mind, and describes the world in a new way for us. Keep trying to write it! lol (this is to both of us, by the way….)

    A most delightful post this is too, Care. I also want to say that I have’t read 50 Shades of Gray, and frankly, there are too many good books to waste on a book about sexual bondage lite. Yikes, everyone is slightly scandalised and titillated by it, but no one is saying – is it well-written? A good story? which makes me suspect it is all about the content, and not how it’s written.


  1. 1 Cranford « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on May 23, 2012 at 1:56 am

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

Tried to capture a very cute pic of the pups sleeping but Oscar awoke and moved when I got my phone out.

Goodreads

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

