Archive for April 24th, 2012

Where been? Have I

Poetry, for me, is a playing with words. Is playing with words. Word play.

“… the apprehension of a poem is a sensuous mental activity.”  

- Molly Peacock, pg 3 of How to Read a Poem

I had big plans for today, heavy laden with tasks, with ‘must-dos’. But all along, I’ve been reminiscent* that I have a poetry post due. While I mowed the lawn, I toyed with a rhyming ditty. While writing my daily letter(s), I jotted little rhyming ditties. I even attempted weighty thoughts, hoping the words would align into something worthy of sharing. (I don’t think I quite got the spark, unfortunately.)

Here’s that dittying of which I mentioned:

Lilacs are purple, tulips are pink.
Poems are astounding, designed to make one think.

If tulips are pink, what flowers are teal?
Poems jolt emotions, to make one feel.

I have been aware that April is Poetry Month and I have seen its mention many places. Every time I encounter a poem, I gave a little high-five to the universe, “Yay, a poem for poetry month!”, and yet, here it is, THE day to post for Read More Blog More and I’m finally sitting down to write my post.

Confession Time. I borrowed Peacock’s Poetry book from the library about 4 weeks ago and today is the first time I’ve even opened it. For shame. It might even be due (overdue) and I owe late fees. I’m really not sure.

Molly opens her book by describing how much joy she found in the fact that the word joy has an O in the middle. And how astonishing it is that the word ‘circle’ does not have an O. I could be friends with this woman. I should probably just buy the darn book.

“if you have form’d a circle to go into,
Go into it yourself, and see how you would do.”

- William Blake from “Gnomic Verses ii: To God”

I’ve been reading a lot lately. I listened to Jon Krakauer’s Into the Wild (on CD, in my car**) and finished 1Q84 by Murakami. Just so you know, in case you don’t make it back for my reviews; I was most conflicted about Into the Wild and I thought 1Q84 was only OK. Yep, that means two stars. I don’t think I will go out of my way to read any thing else by this author.  You know the ol’ argument “Too many books, too little time” and I can’t waste time trying to figure him out and whether or not I *should* like his stuff.

And READ-A-THON! I felt guilty not participating. And yet, I probably read more pages of books this past weekend than any other prior read-a-thon ever. That’s guilt for ya.

What else?  I have book club this Thursday. I’m the CHOOSER or presentor-of-the-choices this month and here’s what I think I am proposing: Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, and A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean. I keep toying with the idea of adding Fifty Shades of Grey***  to the list but I’m afraid that is what they will choose. And we will all read it anyway, I think. Thus, it shouldn’t be a book club choice. My opinion.

What does any of this have to do with poetry? Not a damn thing.

“Our sense inarticulacy in the face of the most articulate art, a helplessness in its presence – coupled with a sureness of our attachment to it even though we don’t know why – can bewitch us.”

- Molly Peacock, pg 4 of How to Read a Poem


Not a damn thing. How do we make poetry out of every day have-to-dos?
Lu asks, in her post from the weekend telling us to get ready for today:
#3) Where do you get your poetry? Do you read poetry in books, primarily online, in magazines?
I won the free gift from the Read-More-Blog-More committee last month, The Day the World Ends by Ethan Coen. I have yet to open it. Haven’t even cracked the cover. But THANKS!  I just haven’t gotten to it yet!!!   :)
I find my poetry here there and anywhere. I mentioned that one of my latest reads was FULL of poetry: The Invention of Clouds and it was a most unexpected pleasure. But I don’t seek it out. Or maybe, I do. Just by participating in this event, I’m recognizing the possibility — the opportunity of poetry.
Yep, I think I will buy Molly’s book.
Finally, pink tulips:  

Can we conceive what humanity would be if it did not know the flowers?  ~Maurice Maeterlinck

* Can I be ‘reminiscent’? or was the DAY reminiscent? All this thinking hurts my brain.

** My attempt to “Go Audio” and I completely screw it up. I was SUPPOSED TO download something to my iPhone. Sigh…

*** Everyone I know in “REAL LIFE” has asked me if I’ve read Fifty Shades of Grey. I have not. Funny, I have yet to see a review of it here in my book-blogosphere. But that only proves that I never open my Google Reader.
HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

This awesome bookmark made special for me by my friend @reedonn jumped out of a box and tried to hide behind an empty bookcase (which just got loaded before I thought of taking this pic)

Goodreads

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers