Archive for February 28th, 2012

Poetry for February

Today is the last day of the month and that means…

 POETRY!

Kailana has the sign in, or will?  And Lu is the other co-conspirator to make the last day of every month a celebration of poetry.

I thought about copying down a few Tennyson poems that were featured in the Byatt novella I just finished late last night, Morpho Eugenia (so good!) but. I’m not sure where I put the book. *lookingaroundroom*

THEN, I had the brilliant idea to go google for Leap Day poems but wasn’t inspired.

So, then I went and did some chores and am right now avoiding other chores and sat down to see if I could compose anything myself,with my poet-hat on. I do my best poetm-writing when I just sit and see what pops into my head.

.

I wish, I wish upon a star

But then wonder, can I do that?

It’s daylight, no stars in the sky at the moment,

And I’m obviously borrowing a line from someone else’s poem,

Is that stealing?

What is my wish?

World peace, I toast; I wish for cheerfulness and kindness.

I wish for easy decisions and less hassles,

Realizing immediately that my first world problems are silly.

Silliness but they are my sillinesses. My world.

Silly should be reserved for giggles and frivolity

not judging the quality of petty problems, anyway.

I wish I could find a swing and sail into the sky,

the sunny daytime starless sky.

Well?  How’d I do? Happy February Poetry Day!

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

Oscar #OscartheGriff

Goodreads

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers