Saturday Snapshot

Alyce of At Home With Books hosts a meme called Saturday Snapshot; this is my first time to participate.

Awhile back, Jenners informed me that I was required by the Blogger’s Handbook to post about my prom. Thought the time was right for me to share. Enjoy. I am hiding the identity of the guy we shall henceforth refer to as “Steve”.

I hated prom.  H.A.T.E.D. Prom. The whole concept of prom, the whole idea of prom, the whole ‘gotta find a freakin’ date for prom, prom crap.

Do I look like I’m enjoying myself?  I wasn’t.

I hated my dress. I was embarrassed that I felt I had to go. I didn’t want to go. I hated that I was peer pressured into actually going to prom because I didn’t have the guts to (be goth and) NOT go to prom. (not that ‘goth’ was around in 1983 Kansas; I was a “good girl”.)

My mother made that horrid hot pink mess of a nasty dress. Keep in mind that in 1983, the Gone-With-the-Wind hoop skirts were “in”.

I’m getting all worked up just writing about this.

Steve was a boy I knew from church who went to a different high school and was nice enough to go to prom with me when I asked him. I took him to a nice restaurant – he drove, I paid – and we attended PROM.  It was at the school.  I have no idea what the theme was.

I was home by 11 pm.

THAT was my prom.

The next time I attended a formal-dance-like event was with my husband – we were only dating then – in my 5th year of college, at a sorority formal.  I never attended ANY of my sorority (or anybody else’s) formals until I was an “Alum’.

My husband was my first boyfriend.

I’m still married to my first boyfriend; twenty-three years and counting.

Am I done now?  Did I fulfill the Blogger’s Handbook obligation, Jenners?!?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

35 Responses to “Saturday Snapshot”


  1. 1 Amanda February 25, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Does that mean I have to talk about my prom too? Prom sucked…

    • 2 Care February 25, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      Not sure if anyone is really in charge. You might be able to get away with it. But me? I’m an OCD rules follower. I’d jump off a bridge and stand on my head if all the kids were doin’ it.

  2. 3 Alyce February 25, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Thanks for sharing your photos! I don’t have any of my old prom photos because I tossed all the old boyfriend pictures when I got married. :) I got dumped halfway through my first prom (the guy ran off with one of my girlfriends) and had a hair disaster at my second prom, but the guy was nice so at least there’s that. :) I’m so glad that period of my life is over!

  3. 5 beastmomma February 25, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    I admire your courage for posting these pictures. Plus, I love that you are still with your first boyfriend. Way to go friend!

  4. 6 bermudaonion (Kathy) February 25, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    I don’t think anyone enjoys prom, but you do look happy in the top photo. I think it’s outdated and should really be eliminated, but no one cares what I think.

  5. 7 Staci@Life in the Thumb February 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Too funny! and I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the prom! :D

  6. 9 Diane@BibliophileBytheSea February 25, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    I loved this. Especially the smiley face:)

  7. 10 softdrink February 25, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    My prom dress was green…and just as green as your pink was pink.

  8. 11 storygal February 25, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    If you had your choice of colour, what would it have been?

  9. 13 Mary February 25, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Steve has a nice smile, LOL. Great post!

  10. 14 Kailana February 25, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Yeah, I am NEVER posting my pictures from prom. I would like to forget it existed. Actually, a lot of what you said I could easily say about mine. I did break the rules, though… Long dresses were in style and you couldn’t see my shoes, so I wore sneakers. My friends were complaining their feet hurt and people were coming over and asking to see if I really was wearing sneakers… lol

    You know, one picture that does not exist is of my shoes…

  11. 15 stacybuckeye February 26, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I liked getting dressed up for prom and going to dinner. I hated the whole getting a date and the actual dance part.
    I think you look great!

  12. 16 Kathleen February 26, 2012 at 12:29 am

    I love this prom feature! I hate my junior prom and loved my senior prom but I’ve never been the person to get excited about a formal dance either!

  13. 17 cherylmahoney February 26, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    I never went to high school prom. My friends and I had an “anti-prom” Junior and Senior year, hanging out and watching movies with attractive men in them. I think it was probably much more fun! And we spent one afternoon at the mall trying on formal dresses we knew we weren’t going to buy–that was great fun too.

  14. 19 Jenners February 26, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Your obligation is fulfilled. I hereby grant you immunity from posting other formal wear photos. : )

    Wow .. that is pink. I almost get a headache looking at it.
    You do look like you are having a good time though. (Sorry … you must be a good actress.)

    Love the smiley face — I should have done that!

    And I think it is amazing and wonderful and romantic that you are still married to your first boyfriend! That is a rare and wondrous thing!

  15. 20 Jenny February 26, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    Aw! Is there a rule about talking about prom? I have never talked about prom because it was…not that interesting. I’m always a little surprised when people say they had an amazing time at their proms. The, like, one time someone ever told me that. :p

  16. 22 Marie February 26, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    Thanks for sharing your prom story! My prom was fun but I wasn’t very nice to my date. Oh well!

  17. 24 Bookfool, aka Nancy February 27, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    I think I’ll opt not to add to the stories, but this was very entertaining. Tiddlypom. :)

  18. 28 Tami February 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

    High School – what a dreadful time. My mother never has understood why I skipped my senior prom to go visit my boyfriend (now husband of 29 years) at college because he refused to attend another high school prom.

    There are many parts of high school I would like to forget, so probably won’t be posting any prom pics any time soon.

    But thanks for sharing yours – what a great story.

  19. 30 Ti February 29, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Is prom ever smooth sailing for anyone? At the time, I thought my dress was lovely, but of course now.. I see it as the horrifying garment that it was. The only good thing is that I looked like a bride and so the bartender served me. LOL. Good thing or bad? I swear, I was a good girl. LOL.

  20. 31 Melissa (@AvidReader12) March 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

    As much as you hated it, I’m glad you still shared. That dress is PINK! I love that you married your first boyfriend. My husband and I started dating in high school and 9 years later we got married. It’s funny to think of the “high school sweetheart” cliche, but it’s sweet too.

  21. 32 Trish March 1, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Oh Care. This post is SO sad, but I couldn’t help but laughing at it. You can’t laugh now?? My prom was OK. I went with my best friend who had a big crush on me but is now of a different orientation, BUT I did love my dress. LOVED IT. Other than that every dance I attended in high school pretty much sucked. ;)

    Must check out this Bloggers’ Handbook of Jenners’

    • 33 Care March 1, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      hee hee – no, I’m alright about it now. I am sad that I was so mean about that dress. Just threw in some good angst just the give the story some flavor.

  22. 34 Karen K. March 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Your prom dress looks almost exactly like my senior prom dress! Did it have a massive butt bow like mine?

  23. 35 Lisa March 4, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    Oh no – now I’m wondering if I should have talked my daughter into going to prom this spring! I keep telling her that she’ll regret it if she doesn’t but now I’m wondering if she’ll regret it if she does. To be fair, though, a girl doesn’t have to have a date any more so that stress is off if you can find a group of girls to go with, which she has. Also, the post-prom events are so much fun for the kids these days. Did you guys have The Picture Man at your prom?


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Goodreads

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

