Archive for February 25th, 2012

Saturday Snapshot

Alyce of At Home With Books hosts a meme called Saturday Snapshot; this is my first time to participate.

Awhile back, Jenners informed me that I was required by the Blogger’s Handbook to post about my prom. Thought the time was right for me to share. Enjoy. I am hiding the identity of the guy we shall henceforth refer to as “Steve”.

I hated prom.  H.A.T.E.D. Prom. The whole concept of prom, the whole idea of prom, the whole ‘gotta find a freakin’ date for prom, prom crap.

Do I look like I’m enjoying myself?  I wasn’t.

I hated my dress. I was embarrassed that I felt I had to go. I didn’t want to go. I hated that I was peer pressured into actually going to prom because I didn’t have the guts to (be goth and) NOT go to prom. (not that ‘goth’ was around in 1983 Kansas; I was a “good girl”.)

My mother made that horrid hot pink mess of a nasty dress. Keep in mind that in 1983, the Gone-With-the-Wind hoop skirts were “in”.

I’m getting all worked up just writing about this.

Steve was a boy I knew from church who went to a different high school and was nice enough to go to prom with me when I asked him. I took him to a nice restaurant – he drove, I paid – and we attended PROM.  It was at the school.  I have no idea what the theme was.

I was home by 11 pm.

THAT was my prom.

The next time I attended a formal-dance-like event was with my husband – we were only dating then – in my 5th year of college, at a sorority formal.  I never attended ANY of my sorority (or anybody else’s) formals until I was an “Alum’.

My husband was my first boyfriend.

I’m still married to my first boyfriend; twenty-three years and counting.

Am I done now?  Did I fulfill the Blogger’s Handbook obligation, Jenners?!?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

Twitter Updates

Wow this stuff is yummy

Goodreads

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,498 other followers