Archive for February 12th, 2012

Book Two: 1Q84

Discussion of Book Two of 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (page 310-594 in hardcover edition.)

I’m not getting into answering any of the questions from my Book One post. I am not giving a status update on where Green Peas and Tengo are now. I’ll just give a brief reaction without spoilers.

I could easily walk away from this book. Here I am just about 600 pages in — only 300+ to go, and I have had over a week away from it.

Will I finish?! Yes. I’m curious. Mildly curious.

Some books come along and you read them and it really doesn’t matter if you *liked* it or not. Just one of those books you are glad you read, just so you can (show off and) say, “Yea, I read that.”  No argument, maybe some discussion, but just glad to be in on the *know*.

Will I change my current rating of three stars to four? Will be so excited to say I read all those pages and then give it a higher rating or will it all come together and I will find it awesome in spite of the accomplishment?

I really do not like chunksters…

I honestly think I could forego finishing and still be satisfied with my imagined ending of Aomame and Tengo finding each other and living happily ever after.

If I don’t get this thing done by March 1, when I begin a readalong of Cloud Atlas, 1Q84 may end up DNF.

I feel like a contrarian.

Any questions?

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

Twitter Updates

Happy Easter!

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers