In 2012, I hope to…

As I sit here distracting myself with my blog from the frantic fretful search I am conducting to find the misplaced journal I wanted to use this year, I think about things I should do.

[Found it. I was quite fretfully frantic for most of the day. It had fallen in the recliner where you really had to brave sticking your hand down the crevice to see if you could feel a book and not old gummi bears or something... WHAT A RELIEF!]

Like, clean up my categories.

Like, remember to click if a book is DEBUT and if on the 1001-Books-I-Must-Read-Before-I-Die.

To limit my embarrassing habit of over-exclaming!

To not get annoyed that the list of 1001-Books-I-Must-Read-Before-I-Die keeps changing.

To re-do my Google Reader.

To visit everyone who visits me and to say something if I got something to say.

To not get hung up on not having anything impressive to comment.

To comment anyway. So there.

To actually open and check my Google-Reader rather than bounce around the blogosphere willy-nilly prompted haphazardly by random thoughts of “Oh hey, I haven’t visited Oh’s blog in awhile…” or whichever blogger’s name that pops into my head – prompted by the Universe, I’m sure.

To add my books-done-read to my alphabetical listing page.

To visit the blogs of the tweeters I most tweet with.

To remember that I have books on my iPad; hiding inside my Kindle app and iBooks app. I tend to go stand in front of my bookshelf and let the physical books scream at me for attention.

To be committed to the idea that book blogging is FUN.

To not sit at the computer for long periods of time.

To find an adequate audiobook listening device before the first lawn mow is required this spring. Even earlier would be great! My husband swears he gave me his mp3 player but I am sure I gave it back to him… I don’t want to buy an iPod just for audiobooks but I don’t have any idea what I should do with this dilemma. Like twitpics – have you ever researched how to post a pic to twitter?! I was dizzy with all the options and the arguments in the comments on a HOW-TO post somewhere.

To put post-it notes in every newly acquired book I get that tells me who gave it to me or where I bought it or … you know, stuff I will want to remember and sort in December.

To read EVERY BOOK on my shelf right now that somebody loaned me or gave me.

To list the above so I know what I’m getting into.

To have fun.

To stop caring what other people think of me. (To grow up.)

To realize that I can only control my own thoughts and actions and not those of another and if I find I’m misunderstood, I deal or move on.

To remember to have fun.

To silence my inner-book critic when reading something I might discern as ‘silly’ and just enjoy the ride. To silence my inner-doubter as to books that intimidate me and … enjoy the ride.

To read more books and go see the movie.

To read more books over 100 years old. Or just one. I’m good with that.

To go on a bookstore tour of Boston.

To stay above and away from any book blogging fray*.

To be kind to animals.

To be concerned with reuse, recycle, and re-something else I can’t remember but try to be green. [REDUCE.]

To continue noting words in my readings that make me go “hmmm”. And to incorporate vocabulary into posts.

To support and cheer and rally for and encourage my wonderful book blogger pals when they need me. I hope you let me know if you need me.

To attempt to READ during a Read-A-Thon in addition to cheering.

To read when I can but not feel pressured.

To possibly consider creating and actually posting a vlog. I promise to wear my pie earrings.

To support my local library and local indie bookstores.

To share books and give away books, at will.

To never drink and tweet.

To be free to add to this list or decide against doing any of these listed items.**

To write a letter every single day. If you want me to send you letter, you know what to do. (tell me where to send it?)

To just have fun.

To be GENEROUS of SPIRIT.

My blogging and life manifesto***.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

* fray – noun (the fray) a situation of intense activity, typically one incorporating an element of aggression or competition.

** Gotta always leave an OUT. ;)

*** manifesto |ˌmanəˈfestō| noun (pl. -tos) a public declaration of policy and aims.

ToHIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2012. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

45 Responses to “In 2012, I hope to…”


  1. 1 Debi January 3, 2012 at 6:48 am

    THIS IS AWESOME, CARE!!!!

    (Though I think it might be fun to see what you had to tweet if tipsy.)

  2. 3 BermudaOnion January 3, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Good luck! I forget about eBooks too – I can’t see them so they’re not staring me down. I don’t think I overexclaim in my posts, but I sure do when I comment!!

  3. 4 Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) January 3, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Great goals, especially the one about having fun! Happy new year!

  4. 5 Ti January 3, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Awesome list!!

    Christmas and 2012 sort of hit me over the head this year. Both, came out of nowhere and it’s been 80+ degrees in So Cal which makes it feel like summer. It’s totally thrown me off. So although I am quite a list maker, I haven’t really made any, besides by very short best of list.

    So glad you will be staying away from the fray. That high school stuff on Twitter bores me to tears.

  5. 6 Care January 3, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    I actually like Twitter. I seem to avoid much if any drama there.

  6. 7 Amanda January 3, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    PIE EARRINGS!!! You know, I was going to comment on all the rest of this, and then I saw the comment about the pie earrings, and I got all distracted. That is awesome. :D And so are you.

    • 8 Care January 4, 2012 at 6:53 am

      Ok, you’re signed up. When I get around to this vlogging thing – I will come to you for tips and advice. :)

      The earrings are slices of blueberry lattice pie. I was thrilled to receive from a very good friend. (She knew I didn’t need any more lobsters.)

  7. 9 Kathleen January 3, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    I hope many of these same things! Good luck with all of your resolutions/hope to’s!

  8. 11 chartroose January 3, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I hope to:

    start reading book blogs again, beginning with yours, Care! I miss you.

  9. 16 Bellezza January 3, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    A most worthy list, to be sure, and on several points I concur most whole-heartedly. (Such as, “To stop caring what other people think of me.”)

    I hope you can accomplish all you chose to do, and I sigh with you on the finding of your journal. Never a good thing when it’s missing, I know.

    • 17 Care January 4, 2012 at 6:51 am

      You should have seen the points I deleted that were much too whiny and self-scolding. I could probably add one that says ‘Be kinder to myself.’

      I had only written in the thing ONE DAY and was just starting to write goals in it when it ‘ran away’. I was both upset and then rationalizing that I have other books. Back and forth. But I trusted it would be found. I knew it was in the house.

  10. 18 Natalie ~ the Coffee and a Book Chick January 3, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Too funny on the exclaiming… I do that so much as well, and I struggle with not inserting it all the time. I slip on that one a lot! <– see? :)

  11. 20 beastmomma January 3, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    I love these aspirations! If possible, I would love to join you for a bookstore tour of Boston and/or a food tour of the city!!

  12. 22 softdrink January 3, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    This is a most awesome list.

    There is nothing wrong with the overuse of exclamation marks. Nothing! (Just like there’s nothing wrong the overuse of with parentheses.)

    Wanna be pen pals? (Although the one a day thing is waaaaaay too ambitious for me.)

    • 23 Care January 4, 2012 at 6:46 am

      Watch your mail! I do have most of January already assigned with responsed to Christmas cards so I’m off to a very good start. I’m being lenient; I allow postcards and intend to shower all my N&Ns (nieces and nephews) will little notes for all the holidays. This shouldn’t be too hard.

      Altho it is reminding me of people that I heard from in years and it makes me a little sad. Do I write them anyway?

  13. 24 Kailana January 3, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    This is fun!

    I bought an mp3 player with my Christmas money just to listen to audiobooks. I was not buying an ipod for that alone… That’s a ridiculous overuse of money. I am rather cheap, so, just saying. :) The guy and I actually share more technological advanced player for music. His car will play it because he has an auxiliary plug, I do not, so sharing works…

    And, I’ll be pen pals! I have all kinds of pretty paper that I never use because everyone emails nowadays…

    Also, I totally overuse the exclamation mark and never considered there being anything wrong with that.

  14. 26 litlove January 4, 2012 at 8:53 am

    And you know what? I think you’re perfect just as you are, and that you don’t need to change a thing. Generous of spirit is just you in a nutshell, lady!

  15. 28 Bookfool, aka Nancy January 4, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Amazing list! You’ve got me rethinking how to present mine. If I imitate, just remember it’s flattery.

  16. 30 Jeanne January 4, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    I love these. You’re always amusing, even when you feel like you’re commenting despite not having anything to say.

  17. 32 Jessica January 4, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Oh wow. This looks like you were in my head! I’ll bet it was a relief to get this list out “on paper.” :)

  18. 34 Trisha January 5, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Oh the joys of the GR. I’m actually trying to go through that right now. I need to get my subscriptions down or I may just go crazy. :)

  19. 35 stacybuckeye January 5, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    Awesome goals! Happy 2012 :)

  20. 36 Melissa (@AvidReader12) January 6, 2012 at 11:56 am

    I love your list. “To not get annoyed that the list of 1001-Books-I-Must-Read-Before-I-Die keeps changing.” This is driving me nuts! How am I suppose to read them all if they keep changing them?

  21. 37 Lisa January 6, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Some very wonderful ideas here! I love the idea of putting a sticky into every new book so you remember where you got it. I always have stickys near by when I’m reading but have never thought to do that. It would help with the “loaned” book problem that I commented about in another post for sure.

  22. 38 unfinishedperson January 7, 2012 at 9:07 am

    “To not sit at the computer for long periods of time.”

    However, everything you said up until that point requires sitting at the computer for long periods of time. ;-)

    Except I’m with you, especially on the commenting part. Trying to do a better job of that here in the New Year.

  23. 39 joanharvest January 7, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Well, that is quite a list you have. I love the not drinking while tweeting. That is a great one. I can’t wait to get my cataract surgery so I can read again. I got 4 books for Christmas but it’s really hard to read for any length of time. Have you ever read “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time”? That’s one of them. Anyway, Happy New Year to you. Oh, I almost forgot, have you heard from Teenie at all? I have a few people asking about her. I hope she’s OK.

  24. 41 Trish January 15, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Care–the thing I love most about you is your over-exclaiming. Please don’t stop! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’d kind of like a letter. Ha! What a great idea–I used to send letters when I little. Always: “Hi… How are you? I’ve been fine….” Though not sure what I’d add now that I’m older. ;)

  25. 43 Laurie C January 19, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I’ve gotten so behind in my Google Reader subscriptions and I’m trying to catch up. Loved your list of goals! So ambitious and so impossible to reach while also being kind to yourself! I’m so far from achieving any of them that I didn’t even manage to compile any goals for the new blogging year. Also, I never even THOUGHT to feel bad that my comments aren’t impressive! ;)
    Maybe I’ll see you in the local library… (I’ve tried to figure out who you are from your photo, but so far I don’t think I’ve seen you!)

    • 44 Care January 19, 2012 at 8:03 am

      Yep, I don’t think I’ve opened GoogleReader once since posting this.

      I haven’t been to WFL in awhile. I used to be there every week tutoring but we’ve changed venues. I’ll stop by next time I’m in the neighborhood.

  26. 45 amymckie January 19, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    Truly fantastic ideas here, I hope you manage the best of them at least :) Yay for fun and what not. heh


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

Shark Week Baby!! @abbeyshea

Goodreads

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

