Tuesday Topicals • June 7 • 2011

It’s another* TUESDAY TOPICALS!

topical • adjective • let’s stick to topical issues: current, up-to-date, up-to-the-minute, contemporary, recent, relevant; newsworthy, in the news. ANTONYMS out-of-date.

This is AUDIOWEEK, if you like or want to know more about that.  Just click here on the button to go to Devourer of Books Blog to learn more and participate:

I will be hosting a GIVEAWAY for an audio book in my next post.  If you are a fan of Neil Gaiman, I suggest you keep on eye on this piece of the interblogswebland.

                                                                     

I also promised y’all a chance to help me pick the book/s I will suggest for my next bookclub read.     You still want to vote and help me, right?!??

The big news in my life?   Why yes, I *do* have big news!

I start a job today as an Elder Care Companion, for just a few hours per week and I’ve very excited about it.     The location is only a 4 minute walk!   And the wonderful person I get to hang out with is a sweetie.

AND,

Question:  Do you like baseball?    we are hosting a Summer Intern for the Cape Cod Baseball League/Wareham Gatemen and she is a delight!  and a reader!   She’s been helping me organize my new bookshelf (gotta have  a photo, right?)  -or- she is indulging me as I hand her books and say, “You MUST read this one.”   etc and then some…

* This is actually my first Tuesday Topical…

QUESTION 2:  In honor of my friend Trish, do you think the word NEUROTIC can be a good thing?

and finally, totally unrelated to everything but connected to it all, you only have two shopping days.  Possibly, still time to put a card in the mail.

.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2007-2011. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
16 Responses to “Tuesday Topicals • June 7 • 2011”


  1. 1 BermudaOnion June 7, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Congratulations on your job! I’m sure it will be deeply rewarding for you and your companion.

  2. 3 Carol June 7, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Congrats on the new job. It sounds tough, but rewarding.

  3. 5 softdrink June 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Congrats on the job! Does Oscar get to tag along?

  4. 7 Dawn - She Is Too Fond of Books June 7, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    How did I know about the new job before this post? You must have mentioned it on twitter …. Seems a great fit for you (and *very* convenient!)

    Hosting a baseball intern!?? Who reads?! win-win

  5. 9 Trish June 8, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Congrats on the job! Sounds like it’ll be a blast.

    I think neurotic can be good and bad. Though maybe neurotic wasn’t the word I was looking for? ;)

  6. 11 Bookfool, aka Nancy June 8, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Congrats on the job!

    I think there are good and bad neuroses. Like . . . perfectionism is not a bad thing. It can mean a person has an orderly life, which just makes the fun times more enjoyable. I had perfectionist parents and grew up one, myself. Then, of course, I moved in with Mr. Chaos and had to learn to live with explosive messes or give up all my time cleaning up after him. I rather prefer order, but I made a choice.

  7. 13 Bookfool, aka Nancy June 8, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    BTW, I adore the new clematis header. Gorgeous!

  8. 15 Jimmi June 9, 2011 at 8:24 am

    We are reading Neverwhere for bookclub next Monday. I’m actually listening to it. And I love it. Thanks for the suggestion.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

Twitter Updates

Tried to capture a very cute pic of the pups sleeping but Oscar awoke and moved when I got my phone out.

Goodreads

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,498 other followers

