On Hiatus

Dear Readers, Friends, Fellow-Booklovers, and Blog-Buddies:

I am going to take an extended break from blogging.    Do know I will be back.   Do know I love you all and will likely miss you terrifbly.   I just need to shake things up and do some thing different for awhile.

Maybe it is Spring. I want to be outside. I want to get more fit. I want to bake more pies and cook more family dinners. I need to explore and learn new things.  I should volunteer more and accept more substitute teaching opportunities. I need to become more proficient in my tutoring duties, skills (and perhaps marketing.)   I just might find a new job or clarify what kind of job I should be working towards. I know I am in the middle of a perplexing reading slump. I don’t yet know if I will go on hiatus with goodreads.com but probably will suspend my Twitter activity. My goal of 100 books this year is most definitely scrapped!

I enjoy blogging, yapping about the books I am reading and learning about the books you are enjoying.   I adore so many of you and love reading your posts!   I cheer you all on for your reading challenges and readalongs.   I still intend to read  Murakami’s The Wind-up Bird Chronicle with Maree in June.   Hopefully I will be back for Dewey’s Readathon in April.    I am loyal to this blog and it really does mean the world to me so don’t think I’m abandoning it. Heck, I just might change my mind tomorrow and you’ll see me commenting here there and everywhere – who knows!

But today, I feel the necessity of a big step-away.   Email me anytime at BkClubCare [at] gmail [dot] com.    Send me the craziest pie recipe you think I should try.  ☺

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 Responses to “On Hiatus”


  1. 1 gautami tripathy March 10, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Sometimes, we need a break to renew ourselves. You are doing the right thing. I have been thinking of that but haven’t been able to. Now maybe I will follow your lead. I am reading so little. Life seems to moving around me and I seem to be at the same place.

    Time to take stock.

    I wish you the very best in whatever you do. And hope to see you soon.

    Hugs!

  2. 2 Amanda March 10, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I feel you Care! I’m going on break now and mostly focusing on getting fitter in that time. I just need some time away. Though I’m a complete worry wart when it comes to my blog so I’ve filled it up with posts so it doesn’t go blank while I unplug. I need to learn to let go and just disappear for awhile!

  3. 3 Lightheaded March 10, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Have fun rediscovering yourself, Care! I’ll be here when you get back. Hugs.

  4. 4 Rebecca Rasmussen March 10, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Happy hiatus honey! I will miss your posts but will be waiting with open arms when you return! XOXOX

  5. 5 nymeth March 10, 2011 at 9:42 am

    *hugs* Take care of yourself, dear Care. We’ll be right here when you’re ready to come back.

  6. 6 rhapsodyinbooks March 10, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Sounds like a rational decision to me! As Nymeth says, we’ll be here when you get back!

  7. 7 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) March 10, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Have a really wonderful hiatus. Sometimes, that’s important. I do want pictures of all the pie you make, since I love pictures of pie.

    And yes, the LOTR marathon went better than expected. When I watched the movies in the past, I really hated them. This time, I sort of liked them — I understood more, enjoyed more, learned more. So it was good :)

  8. 8 Florinda March 10, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    We’ll miss you, but we’ll be here when you come back. Enjoy your time away, and I hope it’s beneficial for you!

  9. 10 daphne March 10, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    I totally understand! But, know that you will be missed!!

  10. 11 Melody March 10, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    Enjoy and have fun!!! :)

  11. 12 JoAnn March 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Hope the break gives you the chance to focus/re-evaluate, etc….we’ll be here when you decide to return.

  12. 13 Amused March 10, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Enjoy your break and hopefully it brings you whatever it is you are looking for! We all need a break sometimes :)

  13. 14 Kathleen March 11, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Enjoy your break and hope you feel like reading again soon.

  14. 15 bybee March 11, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    You’re being very sensible and will come back with a fresh purpose and a renewed sense of vigor. Just hurry the hell up. Kidding. I’ll miss you.

  15. 16 romance book girl March 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Well, take a good break, you deserve it, and we will be here when you get back!

  16. 17 Laurie C March 11, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Sometimes we spend too much time reading blogs and not enough time reading books, and sometimes we do need to just get away from the written word altogether and do other things for a while. Relax and don’t set any big goals for your time away, is my advice!

  17. 18 Bookfool, aka Nancy March 11, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I’m taking a break, too!! Have fun, Care!!

  18. 19 Sally McLean March 11, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Dearest CARE…..will MISS YOU I’m sure, BUT ONE KNOWS when making changes needs to be incorporated into the DAILY RYTHM of LIFE!!!!! Hope you will feel revived and nourished when you do return!!!!! Maybe absence makes the HEART grow in APPRECIATION!!!!! BEST WISHES*****

  19. 20 Anna (Diary of an Eccentric) March 11, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Will miss you, but hope you enjoy your time away!

  20. 21 Vasilly March 12, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Good for you, Care! We’ll miss you! Have a great time enjoying yourself.

  21. 22 Maree March 13, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Enjoy your break and I’ll “see” you in June (if not before) for Murakami <3

  22. 23 Eva March 14, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Enjoy your break Care! I’ll miss you, so you better come back eventually. :p

  23. 24 Valerie March 14, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I can relate, as I never seem to have the time for everything I want or need to do also! Blog whenever you can… we’ll still be around for you!

  24. 25 Stephanie March 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    We all need a break from blogging once in a while (I took an unintended break most of Nov/Dec but am back now, but only blog once a week or so). I can’t keep up the crazy pace of posting a couple times a week like I used to!

  25. 26 beastmomma March 15, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    I hope you enjoy your rest and come back renewed. Enjoy the outdoors and finding your way!!

  26. 27 Jenny March 15, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Oh, a bientot, Care! (That means we’re going to see you again EN FRANCAIS which I parle fantastically bien.) I hope that while you are gone you find wonderful things to do and be, and I will be thrilled to see you back, whenever that may be. #hughughug

    (I have no pie recipe, I am not a good pie-maker. But if I come across one I will alert you at once.)

  27. 28 Marg March 20, 2011 at 4:32 am

    Some times we just need to refresh ourselves. I hope you enjoy your break and that you get to do all the things you want to do!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

Sunset

Goodreads

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

