Archive for August 31st, 2010

August is Over, School About to Start

I have something to celebrate.   I read my 50th book of the  year!!

Of course, this is off-target for my UNofficial goal of reading 100 books for 2010 but I’m OK with it.   I’m proud of my efforts to read books for all the challenges I’ve signed up for and I’m still motivated.   woo hoo!

I read 6 books in August (and I have serious doubts I’ll be able to conclude my in-progress book by the end of the day.)

The Bell Jar / Sylvia Plath ***** 50  What’s in a Name 3
Finny / Justin Kramon **** 49
Overboard! / Michael J Tougias **** 48 NF
Zeitoun / Dave Eggers **** 47 IRL Bookclub NF
Mixed Magics / Diana Wynne Jones *** 46 DWJweek
Fingersmith / Sarah Waters **** 45 COBC

Two nonfiction, two contemporary fiction (I’m counting The Bell Jar here as well as Finny),  two published in 201o (a new phenomenon to my reading life), a thriller, and only Finny not counting for a challenge!  – and I probably could/will have it fill a slot on the Twenty in Ten Challenge.

Overall, a very satisfying and pleasurable pile of books. Although, maybe six books a pile do not make.

I’m in the middle of bell hooks’ Feminism is for Everybody and have to read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathon Safran Foer for my Sept 23 bookclub.    It’s all a crap shoot what else I’ll read but the top stack catching my interest includes The Likeness by Tana French, The Sea by Banville, Where the Red Fern Grows (don’t tell me anything!  I’m already mad that I was told it is a ‘sad dog tale’.   There’s probably nothing else left to add.  GRRrrrrrr) and…  maybe Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell which was acquired thru bookmooch.com per a recommendation by a wonderful lady I’m teaching how to use the internet.   oh!  and The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri!  just joined my party.

I was going to link to my goodreads tbr list but couldn’t figure out how to only show the ones that are in the house.   Guess I’ll have to take a picture…   This one is a good sample:

Happy Back to School for everyone, too!    Our district’s official first day is Sept 8 and since teachers usually don’t take off that first week, I don’t expect to sub until the middle of the month.

And, congratulations to all my favorite blogs that have been nominated for Book Blogger Appreciation Week!    :)

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

On our way to Block Island RI

Goodreads

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers