The Inaugural Meeting of Care’s Online Book Club

Welcome, welcome!

I’m so glad you could all come to the kickoff meeting for my Online Book Club.     You’re all curious, aren’t you.   Yes, yes.  Me, too.   You see, I’ve been happily posting and yapping at books here for almost 3 years now and so when people who don’t know me asked me at the Book Blogger Convention*, “How does your Online Book Club work?   What are you reading now?”

I expect they were a bit taken aback by my the blank stare,   “Huh?”

Then, they might have been frightened by the smoke and grinding of wheels turning as I thought to myself, “Heck yea!   I should seriously give serious thought to what the heck I’m doing over here at MY Book Club!!”

Originally, I set this up for a place for my family to come together and discuss a book since we live scattered over the entire United States.   But no one else (related to me) quite ‘got’ it.   They would ‘forget’ to visit this blog.   I couldn’t seem to make it a scheduled event.   It turned into just one more blog that was bookish in theme.    (I do wonder why I love this so and what I’m doing this for….)

Well, I’m going to try it again.   The idea of a book club.  Online.   With strangers!   (YOU.)

Here’s my plan,  it’s all very tentative but I’m sure it’ll come together somehow.    On the TENTH of every month, I will ANNOUNCE a book.         Anyone who wants to read that book will come back one month later and we will discuss.       REVOLUTIONARY CONCEPT, wouldn’t you agree!?!    (Why have I never done this before?     Head slap.)

Oh, we’ve done the read-alongs and scheduled times to discuss but this here is truly the “Care’s Book of the Month” idea.      And if no one participates, that’s fine.   It will at least legitimize myself (to me) and people that I meet when I explain that

“my blog’s name is Care’s Online Book Club and this month we’re discussing __________.”

Golly, I feel like I’m creating my elevator speech!

Anyone want to work on a button?      Want me to get on with it already and pick a book?     Fine.     I just started Franny & Zooey by JD Salinger so that’s the July selection.       I’m going to need bigtime help with this one because it seems to be about intellectualism in the 50s; I’m so outside my world-of-reference.     I’m feeling a bit bored and annoyed with the smugness and the never-ending lighting of cigarettes — I’m only 30 pages in.     I worry I’ll give up.

OK, that’s it, then.   Meeting adjourned.

JULY 10 – Franny & Zooey by J.D. Salinger.      Be here or be square. Or be here and prove you ARE square.

The blurb at goodreads.com says:      

“The author writes: Franny came out in The New Yorker. [and something else that didn't cut&paste right but basically, this is a short story and a novella and published in the magazine...] Both stories are early, critical entries in a narrative series I’m doing about a family of settlers in twentieth-century New York, the Glasses. It is a long-term project, patently an ambitious one, and there is a real-enough danger, I suppose, that sooner or later I’ll bog down, perhaps disappear entirely, in my own methods, locutions, and mannerisms. On the whole, though, I’m very hopeful. I love working on these Glass stories, I’ve been waiting for them most of my life, and I think I have fairly decent, monomaniacal plans to finish them with due care and all-available skill.”

Wiki has a page on this book that I’m debating if I should read or not.    ANYONE VOTE THAT I SHOULD?   and/or that I don’t give up on this?!

I don’t see that this won any awards;   it IS on the list of the 1000+ books to read before you die.   Would this be considered a classic?   I don’t quite know the definition of what is a true ‘classic’ but since that other book** by Mr. Salinger would seem to be a classic, I’m just wondering.   I’m reading it for my John Cusack Reading Challenge.

I hope you join me.    Or wait and see what next month’s book will be.   I’m not doing a Mr. Linky and there will be no prizes.   EXTREMELY informal.    When I get a button created (I can do my own buttons, I think, but I won’t deny anyone the pleasure.)  I can then have something official on my sidebar that I can point to and say, “See?!   I really DO have a book club.”

Do I hear crickets?    Suggestions?    Tiddlypom?!?

*  I had a GREAT time!
**  The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
42 Responses to “The Inaugural Meeting of Care’s Online Book Club”


  1. 1 Trisha June 10, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Very exciting! I’ve already read F&Z, and as a teenager who wished she was way more cool, I remember liking the book. Maybe I’ll give it a go again and see how I feel as an adult.

  2. 3 Iris June 10, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I like the idea a lot! Not sure if I’ll make the July meeting, but hopefully I will be here for the next one :)

  3. 5 Eva June 10, 2010 at 8:20 am

    We talked about this on Twitter, but I read this last year & loved it so I’ll join in the discussion. :)

  4. 7 sagustocox June 10, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I’m not much of a Salinger fan, though I did enjoy Catcher. I may have to pick up on the book club in August. I’ve got too much going on right now to join the current one…plus my dislike of Salinger! LOL

    • 8 Care June 15, 2010 at 7:20 am

      I am getting this image of Salinger with a smug look to him. Just finished the Franny (chain-smoking) story and now on to the Zooey one – tone is lighter yet deeper.

  5. 9 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) June 10, 2010 at 8:57 am

    Cool! I will try to find this book at the library so that I can participate :)

  6. 11 Joanne June 10, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I’ve got a copy of F&Z sitting neglected on my shelf. But this is the perfect reason to give it some attention! July 10 I will be here :D

  7. 13 Melissa June 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

    I like it! I’ve read F&Z and can’t wait to discuss. “See” you all on the 10th.

  8. 15 Chris June 10, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I’m going to pass on Franny and Zooey, but I absolutely LOVE this, Care :D I’m excited to see what else you’ll be picking!! A Care led book club?? I’m all there!

    • 16 Care June 15, 2010 at 7:22 am

      Oh Chris! THANKS! I’ll make it easy (or enticing) for you: I think I will select Fingersmith for the Aug 10 discussion. You’ve read that, right? So put Aug 10 on your calendar to visit me.
      Btw, I have the cutest little zuc plant babies pushing up through the dirt!

  9. 17 Lisa June 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I’ll definitely be checking back in with you next month. I have finally hit a nice long break in reviews I’ve committed to and need a month to try to get caught up a bit.

  10. 19 softdrink June 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Like Chris, I’ll pass on F&Z, as that would involve me having to hunt down the book. And I’m trying to be good and stick to my own shelves for the next few months. If I bring another book into the house I’m afraid my bookshelves will revolt!

    But if you ever choose something that I already own, I am so there.

    • 20 Care June 15, 2010 at 7:24 am

      OK! But I’m SURE that your not-the-best-but-maybe-adequate library would have this? no biggie, join in whatever month works for you.

  11. 21 iliana June 10, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    I won’t be able to join this time around Care but hope you have a lot of fun with your book club!

  12. 23 Kathleen Dassaro June 10, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Sounds like a great idea. I look forward to hearing about your next choice.

  13. 25 Jenny June 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I’m not a big fan of Salinger, so I won’t be joining in for July, but I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ll be reading in subsequent months!

  14. 27 bybee June 11, 2010 at 1:12 am

    Oh, I have this book lying around unread! Yay, Care!

  15. 29 Teresa June 12, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I like the idea as well, but probably won’t get to this one. I look forward to hearing your next selection. Good Luck with the Group!

  16. 31 Amanda June 13, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I love the idea of an online book club, though I think I will skip this particular book because I’ve not been terribly impressed by Salinger in the past.

  17. 33 Jeanne June 13, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    This is such a good idea! I’ll see if I can dig up my old copy and reread enough of it to remember some details.

  18. 35 Jessi June 14, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve had a copy of F&Z for almost a decade now, and STILL haven’t gotten around to reading it. Now I have no excuse. :)

  19. 37 Jessica June 15, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Love this idea! I probably wont have time to get to Franny and Zooey this month, but I’ll be tuning in for future selections.


  1. 1 Friday Free For All « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on June 25, 2010 at 6:46 am
  2. 2 Word Shakers : August book Read – Open to Participants « One Persons Journey through a world of Books Trackback on July 11, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,485 other followers

Twitter Updates

Shark Week Baby!! @abbeyshea

Goodreads

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

