Archive for June 9th, 2010

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.

Thoughts Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. by Judy Blume, First Copyright 1970 / A Dell Yearling Book 1986, 149 pages

MOTIVATION for READING:     I selected this as one of my four RE-READS since I rarely ever re-read a book and this is one of those few books I recall reading as a youngster.     I wondered how my 40+ yo self would react to a book that my 12 yo self loved very much.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:    Seriously?     Raise your hand if you don’t know what this book is about!     Well, OK.    It’s about a pre-teen girl named Margaret who moves from the city to the suburbs and makes new friends, wants desperately to ‘grow up’ (and out, at least in the bra category) and conducts a research project of religions since her parents haven’t exposed her to any and her grandparents are quite eager to lay claim to her spiritual heritage (her maternal g-parents whom she has never met, mind you, want her to be Christian; her paternal grandmother is Jewish.)

I didn’t remember the religious aspect of this book – I only remember the frank discussions about menstruation.

WHAT’s GOOD:    Blume captures well the angst and awkwardness of youth.    I loved that Margaret was such a curious and brave kid, a smart kid.    The religious stuff was presented fairly balanced and without obvious influence, not in-your-face.

WHAT’s NOT so GOOD:     Can’t think of a thing wrong with this.  I must have had an updated version because I didn’t note anything too out of date (?!) – although I do recall a brand reference that seemed out of place.   I enjoyed diving back into my childhood brain and looking around.    Nothing too emotional or scary was dug up, so WHEW!    all’s good.    This is one book I *KNEW* I read so it has had years of staying power.    I am pretty sure I read more books by Blume so we can easily cite her as an early author favorite.     Not too far after this book – which wouldn’t you agree was a ‘community’ book meaning we passed it around through the group till all of us read it! –   I went on to read VC Andrews’ Flowers in the Attic after this and THAT is one I don’t have the guts to re-read.

FINAL THOUGHTS:   This was easy and quick so not too taxing for me to breeze through.    I enjoyed it.

OTHER REVs:   For some fun and interesting takes on this book, check out these from around the blogosphere RHAPSODY in BOOKS, she is too fond of books, The Zen Leaf, or check out Fyrefly’s Search Engine .

OK, I’m now more than half-way through this challenge!     Jane Eyre and Wind, Sand and Stars up soon…   or sometime before the year is up.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

Twitter Updates

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers