P.S. I Love You

Thoughts   P.S. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern, Hyperion 2004, 375 pages

MOTIVATION for READING:    I really enjoyed the movie and mentioned I would like to read the book.   My friend Gail loaned it to me.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:   A young widow receives a packet from her husband with monthly letters offering advice on how to move on with her life.

I have been sitting here for days wondering what thoughtful comments I can add or insights I can share but the best I can do is to forget trying to reinvent the wheel and just quote Marian Keyes’s blurb on the front cover:

“Sweet and sad and funny:  a charming journey from grief to hope.”

Because as short as that is, it is spot on.   I agree with it.   Now, on the back cover, the Boston Globe gives it a “four and half hankies out of five” rating:  “Laugh and cry along with Holly, as she bravely forges on with life.”

But I didn’t cry.   And I only give it the three pie rating for “I liked it.”   In fact, I think I prefer the movie!    I DID cry watching the film.

Lots of great Irish slang (I’m assuming, but I didn’t write any of the words/expressions down to double check).    I enjoyed the setting of Dublin and Galway which I’m told is a lovely place;   would SO love to visit Ireland someday.   I was impressed with this book as a debut novel and look forward to reading more from Ahern.   It looks like she is off to an illustrious career;   she has a ton of books out already considering this was her first six years ago.    In fact, one of my pet peeves about book covers is when they talk more about another book that the author has written than the one I’ve got in my hands.    This cover states the Cecilia Ahern is the author of Rosie Dunne (titled Love, Rosie in the US?) but says PS I Love You is her first.    Well, did they publish these at the same time?   So confusing…   But not terribly relevant, I suppose.   Or, is it?

Now I’m just rambling and off-topic.   I need to get back to writing reviews for this so-called ‘book’ blog;  I’m out of practice.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club.  It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
28 Responses to “P.S. I Love You”


  1. 1 bermudaonion April 22, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Maybe you didn’t cry because you’d seen the movie and already knew what happened. The book sounds interesting.

  2. 3 Louise April 22, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    I hated this one – couldn’t get past page 50 :) And I have not watched the movie, which, judging from what friends say, is better. The book was definitely not my cup of tea. I don’t know why, but I simply could not muster any sympathies with Holly and her obnoxious friends ;) Anyway, glad to see that you enjoyed it.

    • 4 Care April 22, 2010 at 5:03 pm

      Thanks, and I’m glad you shared that it didn’t work for you. Her friends were a bit obnoxious, I guess. The book was also about 50 pages too long.

  3. 5 Iris April 22, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    I dislike it when book covers have quotes on them about how fantastic other books by the authors were. It always makes me think if they want me to buy the other books instead of this one?

    I haven’t seen the movie, not have I read the book, but it sounds like I might want to start out with the movie.

    • 6 Care April 22, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      on the bits about a different book? I know, right?! Oryx & Crake had a bit about Atwood being the author of The Blind Assassin. Yea, so?!

      And as for this one, I recommend the movie if you like sweet tear-jerkers.

  4. 8 Jeanne April 22, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    This one seemed very foreign to me; maybe that’s because I’d read that the author’s father was Ireland’s Prime Minister!

    • 9 Care April 22, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      When I first learned about Cecilia Ahern, I had no idea she had a political father – just read that on this book cover. huh. Reminds me that I tried to read a book by Al Gore’s daughter but didn’t finish it. I’ve always been curious about Truman’s daughter’s book… Which brings up a question – why the daughters? Do the sons of politicians write books? not that I really care.

  5. 10 Amused April 22, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Wow, ok apparently I am in the minority here but I freaking loved the book and was pretty disappointed in the movie! :) Just throwing my opinion out there in the mix. I thought the movie was so different. Why did they not make the main woman Irish? Harumph!

    • 11 Care April 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      well, it’s been awhile and I do get the whole US centric version for the movie, but I thought it was well done considering…. but if I had read the book FIRST – well. Who knows!!
      To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much from the movie – I wasn’t sold on the idea of Hilary Swank but then was quite won over. As for the book, I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to disconnect the Swank as Holly and pictured somebody totally different as I was reading. Probably a first for me and a book-read second experience.

  6. 12 Aths April 22, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I’ve heard from many that this movie was better than the book. I should love to read it some time .. Sigh .. the number of books we have to read!

  7. 14 Julie April 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    This was one of our book choice picks back in the day and I just couldn’t get myself to finish it. Ir eally had a hard time with this one and cared very little. It turned out many people in my book club felt the same way. I was so turned off by the book that I didn’t want to see the movie, but I do like the actors in it and if you thought the movie was better maybe I’d give it a try sometime.

  8. 16 Lightheaded April 22, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Everytime I see the title of Cecilia Ahern’s book I am reminded of the Sweet Dreams pocketbook titled P.S. I Love You and it’s all about first love and a boy named Paul Strobe. Oh goodness.

  9. 18 Lisa April 22, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I’ve got it so at least it sounds like I won’t be disappointed. Can’t say that I was expecting much more than “like.”

  10. 20 VioletCrush April 23, 2010 at 2:35 am

    I prefer the movie too, I did not like the writing style so much. I felt the book was more serious compared to the movie, but surprisingly I cried while watching the movie too.

  11. 22 rhapsodyinbooks April 23, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I have read 3 Ahern books. I really like her even though every book could have used some editing. But I have heard P.S. I Love You is the book considered not as good as the rest of hers, so I expect you will enjoy others even more if you try them.

  12. 24 Eva April 25, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I have that same pet peeve! This doesn’t sound like my type of book, but maybe I’ll try out the movie. :)

  13. 26 Bookfool, aka Nancy April 27, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie but I read this book so long ago that I’ve forgotten how I even felt about it — within a year or so of its release. I’ll have to see if I can find a copy of the movie to watch.

  14. 28 lifesfatefulway April 30, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    CARE…..The title PS I LOVE YOU seems to be one you could relate to……another book for my ‘to read’ list. The PSYCHOLOGICAL angle always attracts my interests….found you and sent my reply!!!! Have a great WEEKEND!!!!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

#ilovepie

Goodreads

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

