Anyone interested in the Oscars?

I’m just going to ramble here.    Happy Monday!

First, I’m excited to note that I will be meeting Dawn of Too Fond of Books today for coffee, cinnamon rolls and lingonberries at the Boston area IKEA.   Copley will be in attendance, as well.  Expect photos.

Second,  I have an idea and not sure how to introduce it but maybe bold-on is best…

Anyone interested in playing Twitter Oscar Bingo with me?

I got the idea for the Bingo part from a blog that a friend in KCMO emailed me about and since I don’t have any IRL friends who would likely want to come to my house to watch the big show, I wondered if any of my TWIT friends would want to play.     The origin of the Bingo idea is credited to Jess, the creative genius at How About Orange and the post where she offers up Bingo cards is from last Friday.   <— click on that line to learn more.

MY IDEA is this:   the first 1o people who want to play shall leave me a comment here [and then an email so I can have your snail mail address] and I will send out the cards (actually 8×11 piece of regular copy paper…) and then we agree to twitter our shout outs during the Academy Awards on March 7th.

Whaddya think?   :)

I can probably have a prize of chocolate cranberries since I live in the cranberry capital of the world.   (I know it’s debatable but so what. Wiki says so…)

I just think it might be fun to sort-of kind-of watch the Oscars with somebody since I’m sure the Hub will toddle off to bed to watch Food Network while I stay late to watch the whole darn thing on the big screen.

Third – I will be the one who gets to recommend a book for the April Book Club and I want to read a book that has had a movie adapted so I’m gathering a list.   Anyone know of something good that will be rentable by April?    I already know that I want to have choices of Up in the Air and The Private Lives of Pippa Lee story (anyone SEEN that one?)   and maybe Children of Men by PD James.   Perhaps Inkheart?

Fourth, books!   I received a few books in the mail this past week.

Typhoid Mary by Anthony Bourdain (finished it yesterday!)

Chow Hounds by Ernie Ward, DVM

Waiting for Columbus by Thomas Trofimuk

and

Anne Fadiman’s The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down (not in time for photo)

SO,

If you want to play Twitter Oscar Bingo – let me know!   Only the first 10…

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
22 Responses to “Anyone interested in the Oscars?”


  1. 1 Debi February 22, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Wanna hear how pathetic I am? I don’t think I have ever watched the Oscars in my entire life. Probably because I rarely see a movie until it’s been out for at least five years. See, told you…pathetic.

    • 2 Care February 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm

      Oh, I used to be absolutely nuts about seeing EVERY movie nom’d for all the big categories but barely see more than 3-4 any more. But I do like the fun of it. And, no it’s NOT pathetic – you have other priorities is all. :)

  2. 3 bermudaonion February 22, 2010 at 11:07 am

    I hope you and Dawn have a grand time – are you going to be looking at bookcases? A book your book club could read is The Secret Life of Bees.

    • 4 Care February 22, 2010 at 2:32 pm

      Once we found each other, we had a blast! Time goes very fast when shopping at IKEA.
      Great sug on Life of Bees; I’ve read but not yet seen movie. THX!

  3. 5 Nymeth February 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I wish I could play, but the Oscars are always in the middle of the night for me :(

    Looking forward to those pictures!

  4. 7 Marie February 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Hope you and Dawn had a great time :-)
    I LOVE watching the Oscars although it seems to get duller every year. EXCEPT that I thought Hugh Jackman was AMAZING the year he hosted. I never knew he sang! He was so good! Anyway I would love to play Twitter Oscar Bingo if there’s room! :-)

  5. 9 KB February 22, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Yay for Oscars! I go to an Oscar party every year. : ) I would sign up, but I’m yet to sign up for Twitter and as I’ll be at someone else’s house, don’t know how to update it without the internet.

    Love your theme for April. I don’t think we’d be opposed to “older” book to film adaptations too.

  6. 11 Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) February 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    I can’t play Oscar Bingo because I odn’t know if I’ll get to watch this year, but I just wanted to tell you that I hope you LOVE The Spirit Catches You…. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, so I think you will.

  7. 13 Dawn - She is Too Fond of Books February 22, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    That was such fun — where did the time go!?

    We were straight out of a sit-com, missing each other in the cafe! I can’t believe we were sitting back to, with one little partition between us. I laughed when I heard the incoming text beep on your phone … you couldn’t hide for long.

    I took only one photo of Copley; I’ll email it.

  8. 14 Ali February 23, 2010 at 2:43 am

    I’d play Bingo with you, but alas, I’m in the wrong time zone to watch the Oscars with you in real time, so I don’t think it will work?

  9. 17 Romi February 23, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    I’m still so irked that there are ten Best Picture nominations! It just seems like they are adding “5 alternates”, rather than thinking 10 movies were INSANELY good (though I did love UP IN THE AIR, PRECIOUS, JULIA & JULIA…but not AVATAR…ugh! ;-) )

    • 18 Care February 23, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Really? You are the first I've heard (not that I talk to many people – I live a sheltered bookish life, ya know) that didn't think Avatar was simply-amamamamazing. I have yet to see it.

      And I agree with you about the ten – but whatever. The fun is wondering what the heck the Academy is thinking on MOST things!

  10. 19 Nicole February 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    You are going to meet Dawn, how fun! I think the Oscars have overwhelmed with the way that the put up so many movies for best picture.

  11. 20 Lisa February 23, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    I’d love to join you but I’m going to be at a party. They might want me distracted tho'; I won the prize last year for most correct choices (aka guesses) as to who would win.

  12. 21 Romi February 24, 2010 at 9:23 am

    hahaha…nobody I know loved it…maybe it is a Canadian thing? ;-) My quibbles were: it felt like it was 5 hours long, the acting was like “dead”, so much of the dialogue was lame, and the actual story was a rip-off of a lot of things, like: Americans settling into America which was already settled by Native Americans, of Pochahantas…etc. And as for the 3-D? Sorry but I expected more; like I thought there would be arrows shooting out at me etc, but aside from some tree branches moving in cool directions, it almost felt the same watching it 3-D or not-3-D.

    I just felt there were so many better STORIES told in films this year. You know? But of course it will win…bleh!

    I’m not bitter though! Haha…I enjoy watching the Oscars, and hope that some good movies win in the acting categories! ;)


  1. 1 Get into Bingo game · Play Online Bingo of Playing a Game Online Trackback on February 26, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Fun mail!

Goodreads

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

