Mailbox Monday Jan 18 2010

Welcome to Mailbox Monday!   Actually, I’m listing all the books I brought into the house from all sources and not just the ones I found inside my mailbox…

From my dear friend JoAnne, the Book Zombie, via bookmooch:   Stewart O’Nan’s Songs for the Missing

From the library:  audio-  A Wrinkle in Time / Madeline L’Engle – for discussion soon!

Purchased from the library booksale cart:   Guns Germs and Steel:  The Fates of Human Societies / Jared Diamond

Purchased from the White Birch Bookstore in North Conway NH:    The Fiction Class by Susan Breen, When We Were Romans by Matthew Kneale, and The Best American Short Stories 2009 Edited by Alice Sebold (my husband picked this!   I’ll see if I can’t somehow trick him into reviewing a few).

Purchased from Borders because I was buying a book as a gift and thought I would just check on a few books I keep saying I want to read, so I came home with the paperback of Fear and Loathing:   On the Campaign Trail ’72 by Hunter S Thompson.    I suppose I was somewhat influenced by all the ads on TV right now trying to convince me that Scott Brown is horrible and anti-woman and that Martha Coakley is horrible and wants to spend all my money.    I can’t wait for tomorrow’s election day so that the ads will stop and my phone will cease to ring.

In other news, I ordered cards from Moo – thank you Book Line & Sinker! – that I won and hope to give out with bookmooch and possibly at the book blogger convention in NYC in May.

HIdeinWhitetoSkipLine

Copyright © 2010. Care’s Online Book Club. All rights reserved. This post was originally posted by Care from Care’s Online Book Club. It should not be reproduced without express written permission.
18 Responses to “Mailbox Monday Jan 18 2010”


  1. 1 kim v January 18, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Looks like a nice assortment of books! I adored A Wrinkle In Time as a child. Happy Reading!

  2. 2 charley January 18, 2010 at 11:18 am

    A Wrinkle in Time is the only one I’ve read from your list. I haven’t read it in a while, but I remember liking Aunt Beast.

  3. 4 bermudaonion January 18, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Nice mailbox! I’ve heard wonderful things about Songs for the Missing, so I’ll be looking for your review.

  4. 6 Kaye January 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Stewart O’ Nan’s book is the only familiar one to me. Looks like a nice variety, though. Have a great week, enjoy all your new books and happy reading!

  5. 8 Joanne January 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Gah! I’m so glad that book finally got to you, I felt awful for forgetting to mail out my bookmooch books (must remember to never leave outgoing post in trunk of car again!)

    Happy to hear you are taking part in the L’Engle read-a-long!

  6. 11 Anna January 19, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    Enjoy your new books! I’ve been to North Conway many times with my family as a child. I remember on one trip buying several books, but it was so long ago, I don’t remember the name of the store. I can remember the books, though — poetry collections by Emily Dickinson and Elizabeth Barrett Browning. LOL

  7. 12 sagustocox January 20, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Care it would be great to meet you at the book blogger convention in May if you come. I love Moo for business cards.

    Have a great time reading all those great books. What do you think about Brown winning the election?

  8. 15 Marie January 20, 2010 at 11:59 am

    i hope you like your moo cards- I ordered cards from them and they were beautiful. See you in NYC! :-)

  9. 17 nat @book, line, and sinker January 21, 2010 at 8:39 am

    oooh! can’t wait to see your cards. i’m sure they’re great! enjoy.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

LetterMo2014square

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,411 other followers

Twitter Updates

Happy Easter!

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Goodreads

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,411 other followers

