Please Excuse the Mess/Absence

I  really really REALLY want to support BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week – pls notice button in right sidebar) and so I sent off an email to Amy – you all DO know Amy, right?! – asking if I could help.

Did you hear that – as far as I recall – that the participation is over 1200+ book blogs!?       Um, yea.   how many do you follow? impossible!

I didn’t really want to do an interview;  I don’t really know why exactly, but I just didn’t and the only other way at the moment was to do the meme.  BUT… I didn’t participate last year and the meme didn’t make much sense to me.

SO, I fretted that I really wanted to be a part of BBAW and yet didn’t know what to do.    HONESTLY, I didn’t last year because it felt so clique-ish.    (am I spelling that right?)  and I got over myself to realize that it really is a support and celebration of ALL of us diverse crazies who blog almost exclusively about books and so…

Where was I?

So, Amy says, “YES!!  BY GAWD, DO WE NEED HELP!!!”  which isn’t surprising at all, when you think about all the panels that have been set up to judge and you-know-who-all-what-all.

I’m glad to help.   BUT WOW!    the task they gave me has given me a TOTAL new appreciation.

I’ll be busy.     Excuse me if I’m not twittering off about nothingness and visiting your blogs.   I’m out reading blogs I’ve never heard of before (so far = extremely impressed) and rating them harshly and then ever-so-sensitively and wrestling with the GOAL of how awesome it is that we all support and get along.     Be nice, be impressed, be critical!?

I love book readers.   I so appreciate the warmth I’ve been received here.

so, if you miss me – I’m doing me duty to the book blogging community and I will see you sometime next week.

I do hope to interject with a review of My Father’s Paradise by Ariel Sabar (Violet! what a sweet book!   I’m almost done.)  maybe next week or tomorrow.  who knows…

anyone else a bit overwhelmed with their bbaw responsibilities?   or in awe of all those helping out???   stand up. anyone extremely glad (like I am) that I was NOT nominated to be judged?!    ha. (ok Nymeth – I really hope you’re  laughing.)

And….   I don’t really remember who all I nominated for stuff but I wish (maybe I did!)  I had nominated Bybee for best commenter because she makes me laugh!   And we both lived in Sedalia MO once  – tho, I don’t think at the same time  but I count her as a kindred spirit.   ya know… if you take away her books, she’s naked.   EEKS!

34 Responses to “Please Excuse the Mess/Absence”


  1. 1 bermudaonion August 27, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    I know exactly how you feel because I’m on two panels! It’s a lot of work, but someone’s got to do it.

  2. 2 Amy @ My Friend Amy August 27, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I warned you!!!!!

    I’m sorry BBAW seemed cliquish, that’s the second time I’ve heard that in two days. I don’t know what else do to do to show it’s pretty much one big lovefest for any and all book bloggers! :)

  3. 4 Nymeth August 27, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I’m NOT laughing, Care! *whispers* I am judging too, and fretting and worrying way too much about being 100% fair and driving myself NUTS. If you want anyone to fret with/vent to, you know where to find me :P

  4. 5 historyofshe August 27, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I feel ya! I’m helping my housemate, Lu, with her committee and all I can think is WOW. There’s like a million spreadsheets with a million blogs for just one category.

    It’ll be worth it though, :)

  5. 6 Melody August 27, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    I can imagine how busy and how much hard work you guys have to put in for this huge event!!! I just want to say I’m in awe and very impressed!

    To Amy and all the volunteers: Keep up the good work!!! :)

  6. 7 Megan August 27, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    1200+??? I can’t believe there’s that many of us, let alone that many actually participating! I’m sure I can’t have heard of more than, say, 500 or so. This is going to be quite a week! I have a feeling that my Google Reader is going to end up exploding! And that the exclamation point key on my keyboard is going to bite the dust any second now!!!

    And, jeez, I definitely don’t envy the judging jobs. Seems like it would be quite a hard task – hope it’s rewarding, too! :)

  7. 8 Violet August 28, 2009 at 3:56 am

    I sent an email to Amy too, but she never responded, oh well.
    Judging would be a very painful job indeed, but it’s so cool that you’re helping out :)

    Can’t wait to read your review, whenever you decide to post it :)

  8. 9 diaryofaneccentric August 28, 2009 at 6:32 am

    I’m on one panel, and I hear you! I think it’s something like 420 blog posts I have to read, but I’m finding blogs I didn’t know existed before, and I’m enjoying it. It’s time consuming but fun. Just back away from the computer for a bit if you feel frazzled. That’s what I’ve been doing.

    –Anna

  9. 10 Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit) August 28, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I know exactly what you are saying between the BBAW giveaway committee and the panel judging…I am getting crazy…but its all for a good cause.

    I hope you are having fun too.

  10. 11 Lu August 28, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I know! I’m chairing two panels and judging one other panel and I’m cringing thinking about how I haven’t started going through them all yet. It will be a weekend project. She (housemate above) and I will be working extra hard on Saturday and Sunday I think.

  11. 12 Amy @ My Friend Amy August 28, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Violet, I hope you don’t think I was intentionally ignoring you! Care’s email came just when someone had to back out of panel duties. There’s a lot to be done, but sometimes I have to sit back and figure out how best to split it up.

    • 13 Violet August 29, 2009 at 2:09 am

      oh no, I would never think that. I just figured you were very busy and juggling a lot already. It sure can be overwhelming. You are doing an awesome job though :)

  12. 14 Maree August 28, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I’m just playing from the sidelines, but I’m definitely in awe of all your hard work :)

  13. 15 Jackie (Farm Lane Books) August 29, 2009 at 7:41 am

    1200 blogs? Wow! I am very impressed.

    Keep up the good work – I am really looking forward to discovering all those great new blogs myself!

    I bought My Father’s Paradise at Violet’s recommendation too. I haven’t started it yet, but am pleased to hear you are enjoying it. I look forward to reading your review.

  14. 16 nat @ book, line, and sinker August 29, 2009 at 8:51 am

    this BBAW is so amazing! what a TON of work it must be…

    kudos to you and everyone else who is involved for doing such a great thing for the book blogging community!!!!

  15. 17 Beth F August 29, 2009 at 9:57 am

    LOL!! Yes, I had a few BBAW jobs too because I knew Amy needed help. And the amount and diversity of blogs is astounding! It is amazingly inclusive.

    I too put blog reading aside for almost a week.

  16. 18 oh August 29, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Enjoy and think of all the blogs you’re finding and can return to and I have yet to figure out why there’s just not a book blog convention and everything can be handled there and we can all meet and greet and swap URLs and give it definition so our friends and family won’t wonder what the heck are these people doing on their laptops all the time!!!!

    http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2007/08/06/070806fa_fact_kolbert

    BTW, left this link in your comment as my reply on my blog, about the bees, though you don’t have time to read it now. but it’s an awesome article and explains EVERYTHING.

    ‘later, Oh

  17. 19 Lisa August 29, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Thanks for all of the work you and all of the other panelists are doing!

  18. 20 KB August 29, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    You’re a good doobie, Miss Care.

  19. 21 softdrink August 29, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Give yourself a pat on the back from me. And then go for a walk with Oscar. I think I had a small category to judge, but my brain was FRIED when I was done!

  20. 22 bybee August 30, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I don’t care if I’m nominated or not, just as long as you love me! Thanks!

  21. 23 Alayne August 31, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Hi Care,
    Thanks for your comment and help with linking my name to my site. I *think* I did it correctly. :)

    Good luck with your BBAW work! I’m sure you’ll find lots of amazing blogs during all your reviewing.

    Alayne

  22. 24 lisamm August 31, 2009 at 11:02 am

    The sheer volume astounds me!! Good on you for helping Amy out!

  23. 25 Bookfool, aka Nancy September 1, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Well, now that I’m back from my week with Hubby, I miss you. 1200 blogs???? Whoa!!!

    I just read Enthusiasm, over the weekend, and you were right. I LOVED it!!! What a nice bit of fluffy fun. I haven’t reviewed it, yet, but thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing it with me!!!

  24. 29 Dorte H September 2, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I knew there were many, but 1200?

    I really think you should be excused from your other blog duties for some time! I think it is great that some bloggers do so much for the community, and as this is my first BBAW, I am so curious to see what is going to happen.

  25. 30 Jessica September 3, 2009 at 10:41 am

    I felt sort of distanced from BBAW last year too, but I’m amazed at the community coming together to celebrate what we do. Thanks for helping out!

  26. 31 Care September 4, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Wow! you ALL! Thanks for the great comments and here’s to a fabulous upcoming BBAW!

  27. 32 Dawn September 5, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I didn’t have time to miss you, because I was working on my two panels! It’s so exciting to have so many book bloggers involved in BBAW this year … all the effort will help us have a great week.

    I’m working on my GR this morning, but I’m ready to “mark all read” at the end of the day tomorrow, and start with a fresh slate.

    As for my own blog posts, yesterday was the first day in ages that I didn’t have a post scheduled. Laptop burnout.

    Deep breath. Go read a book. Or have some pie. Or both! :)

  28. 33 Some Spammer Guy Keeps Leaving the NICEST comments! September 17, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

  29. 34 Candice Redfern September 24, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Fun mail!

Goodreads

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

