Archive for July 22nd, 2009

Sticky Post – Irving’s Owen Meany Mini-Club

A few of us bloggers are reading John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany and it has been suggested that we read a few pages then discuss.  List of participants:    Lu, Softdrink, Ms Mazzola, Vasilly, and Jessi.   AND Joann!   Everyone is invited to participate!   These are just the first few who jumped on the wagon.

I’ve got an idea… I’m going to suggest that we have a discussion FRIDAY!   with just an update where everyone is, then jump right into it.   I’ll update this sticky post (which I’m not even sure I can do here in WP) for the next update and offer a post of questions.   and then, we set a date for EACH participant to post thoughts and thus we jump around to everyone’s blog.   ‘kay?

Care – page 91 / end of Ch 3 The Armadillo – Friday 7/24
Lu – page 183 / end of Ch 4 The Little Lord Jesus – Monday 07/27
Ms Mazzola – page 230 / end of Ch 5 The Ghost of the Future – Wed 07/29
Jessi – page 300 / end of Ch 6 The Voice – 07/31
Jill – page 369 / end of Ch 7 The Dream -08/03
Vasilly – page 450 / end of Ch 8 The Finger –  08/06
Joann – ENDING/Readers Guide by August 08 which is a Saturday.

Just to get you thinking:    What did you think of the very first sentence?    (check the Reader’s Guide, too)

“I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice – not because of his voice, or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God;  I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.”

Yap with ya on Friday.     Is this TOO MUCH time?   shall we just agree to keep this loose and fun and if you all read faster, just check in and/or schedule your posts?      I’m really hoping to finish the book before July 31 but it’s the blogging time/deadlines I’m worried about.    THANKS!    this is FUN, remember?!   :)

ONE MORE THING/QUESTION:   how do you set up a Twitter tag?  do we want to twitter this, too – but only as an additional layer since a few don’t do the twitterville thing…   the tag is #owenmeany.

The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn

Review  tdtwealbh The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn:  a lakota history by Joseph Marshall III, Penguin Books 2007, 245 pages

MOTIVATION for READING:    Our book club selection for July!   I’m sure I would not have read this if not for our club voting for it (I admit, I voted for it, too – it was the shortest!) but I did enjoy it.

WHAT’s it ABOUT:    An historical account of the Battle at Little Bighorn, formerly known as “Custer’s Last Stand”, defending the actions and motivations of the victors (the Indians or Native Americans or the indigenous people – the author debates what ‘label’ to assign) as they were only fighting for their way of life.

“Everyone is entitled to an opinion, of course, even in the interpretation of history, but there is also a duty to the whole truth of history.”

WHAT’s GOOD:    I found the information fascinating and the author presenting the Lakota side of the story attempted a calm rational discussion of the Indian’s sad tale of being conquered by those Euro-Americans on their sweep west across their lands.

The book discusses that point in time as a pivot of his people’s history and explores not only the very first possible meeting of native people with Euro-Americans, but explores present day issues and how a culture attempts to continue to exist, and even hopes to survive.

WHAT’s NOT so GOOD:     Well, it was a historical text, so some might consider it boring.    I had hopes that it was a nonfiction narrative that read like a story, but alas, no.    It seems to jump right into the scene, too, without much setup.   (Like, um, what state are we in here?  oh, it’s now Montana.)  Each chapter was a different focus of the same single event and the cause and effect over centuries:   impact to language, way of life, etc.     I found some holes or ‘lacks’ – the text never once discussed the word ‘SOUIX’ and I had questions about who/what/why some were called Lakota, some Nakota, some Dakota, and then this word ‘Souix’ was never explained.      Or I missed it?     I was glad to see an extensive bibliography and index (except ‘Souix’ wasn’t there.)

THOUGHTS and then some… One reason we join bookclubs is to have the chance to read books we may never in a million years even know about, let alone read and enjoy.   Perhaps my background of growing up in the Plains states of the ‘real’ Midwest (Ohio and Pennsylvania are not; I call anything east of the Mississippi River ‘EAST’) made me sympathetic to the discussion of these lands and the horrible devastation of the Buffalo.   I’ve visited the Badlands and the site of the Battle of Little Bighorn.     I was brought up to believe that Custer was an idiot.     And it’s possible that ‘some’ in power at the time wanted him to confront the situation knowing that a win or loss in that particular situation would eventually be a win over time.   A win of progress;   it was inevitable?

“While the soldiers of the Seventh are heroes to mainstream Americans, they are remembered as despicable enemies to the Lakota and Northern Cheyenne, a fact less often mentioned in the battle talks.”

I’ve already said that I was brought up to believe that Custer was foolish and stupid and amazingly dumb if he thought his 300 boys could conquer an enemy of over 1000, so I guess I can’t count myself as a ‘mainstream American’.     I have to agree that the Indians had every right to protect and fight for what they believed in.    It is so very sad that their way of life was eroded, encroached and stripped away from them.   In this particular battle, the soldiers all died – the Indians ‘won’.    But they sure did not win the war.   History is full of stories of to-the-victors-go-the-spoils and in most cases, congratulations are never  bestowed.   War sucks.  People die.   Follow the money.      If I was living in Massachusetts in 1876 and read the newspapers of the stories ‘out west’, I would probably have been horrified and sickened that ‘our boys’ were slaughtered.    Of course, that assumes I was of Eur0pean descent,doesn’it it?   Does it?

“People will continue to visit the site in the years and generations to come.  Whether connected directly or not so directly to the event, most visitors will talk about the battle and all the various factors that are part of its story.   And now and then, someone will say that the land itself is part of the story.  It can be an emotional experience.  Some will feel something emanate from the land itself.**  Perhaps what we seem to sense is that no one knows the complete story of that long ago battle – except the land.

lilbighorn

Here’s the little ‘fun’ stuff of nonfiction where my review gets oddly personal:

1.)   My great-grandfather was a missionary in Oklahoma Territory – I wish I knew more than that, and I’m not entirely sure I have that story correct!     I think, they eventually settled in Indiana before my grandparents met and moved to a farm in Kansas.   All that family history is sketchy, but I do have family members to consult if I want to know the truth.

2.)   Once the Agency and/or Reservation systems were setup, the children of the Lakotas were stripped from their families and sent to The Carlisle Industrial School for Indians in Carlisle, Pennsylvania.    How absolutely horrible!   How very FAR AWAY!?   They cut the kids hair and beat them if they spoke their native language in an attempt to make them ‘civilized’.   Civilized behavior, my ass.   Crap like this makes me ill.      But, my point and why this is a ‘fun’ fact for me is I KNOW people in Carlisle PA and it’s always cool to come across something that I can identify with in some way.   yippee.

3.)  One of my very favorite things about reading this involves LANGUAGE and the very NEXT book I happened to read:   Last Night in Montreal by Emily St. John Mandel, page 26:   “There is a word in the Dakota language, gender-specific and untranslatable, that expresses the specific loneliness of mothers whose children are absent.” SEE?   a connection!    a common unusual thread that links two totally unrelated books.    cool, huh?!

pieratingsmlpieratingsmlpieratingsml

Other interesting sites:

Official Website of Joseph C. Marshall IIINational Park Service Archeology, Little Bighorn Battlefield National Park, A Balanced Tour Experience?   RoadsideAttraction discussion, the Official Montana Travel Site

I won’t be able to attend my book club discussion of this and I’m very bummed about that.    I hope someone will agree to meet me for books&beer next week and tells me EVERYTHING that happens!!!


I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

Getting it together for a Labor Day Lobster Bake!!

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers