Preview Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany

A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving WINS the poll from a few days ago with 48% of the votes cast.     According to my stats, 126 total VIEWINGS of that post were tallied but only 25 votes were counted.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova won second place with 7 votes, tightly followed by A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini with 6 votes.   My Detachment by Tracy Kidder failed to garner a single affirmation.   (I need a new word for ‘vote’)      I’m sure that’s because Bybee is still on vacation?   She does have a guest post recently if you want to wander over there…

ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE TO DO A MINI-BOOK-CLUB with me and Vasilly and Jill/Softdrink/FizzyBeverage/FizzyThoughts/Whatzername to read this book, feel free to join in!       Details to follow once they become clear and concrete?

12 Responses to “Preview Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany”


  1. 1 softdrink July 20, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    We could read chapters 1-3 by a certain date, then discuss. Then 4-6 and discuss. Then 7-9. Does that sound doable?

  2. 3 msmazzola July 20, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I would love to join this book group. May I? And what do I need to do? -Ms Mazzola

    http://stateofdenmark2.wordpress.com

  3. 5 Lu July 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I’M IN!

    I requested it from the library, but if they are too slow I will just buy it because I lurve John Irving.

    (I’d prefer blogging, because my Twitter is pathetic, but then again, maybe it would make me use Twitter better! Up to you :D)

    • 6 Care July 21, 2009 at 7:44 am

      Lu! This is great! I’m glad you are in. I think we’ll be ‘official’ here in blogland and see how crazy it gets in Twit-dom.

  4. 7 Joanne July 20, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    This is gonna be cool!

    And I agree with Jill, we should do it in chapter chunks. I double-checked to make sure my copy was still where it was supposed to be on our shelves – and realized I have 2 different versions, anyways the page numbers do not match up at all! Page 50 in one is like page 107 in the other lol :)

  5. 9 Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit) July 21, 2009 at 6:22 am

    sounds like you gals are going to have fun reading this one.

  6. 11 chartroose July 21, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I’ll blog with y’all since I’ve read this several times. Just let me know when.

  7. 12 Dawn July 21, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I’ll check back for the date … we have vacation coming up. AND, if there’s pie being served, I’ll try to clear the calendar! :)


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,511 other followers

Twitter Updates

Good bye, NevA DulMo! Til next year...

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,511 other followers

