Mailbox Monday

Yippee!  The doorbell JUST NOW rang, Oscar went beserk, I opened the door and the UPS guy handed me a box from B&N.

I now have this in my hands:   tdtwealbh

The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn by Joseph M Marshall III.    This is for my book club meeting on the last day of the month.  It has 245 pages and I might be thinking have been WARNED that I will be glad it is not 500+ pages…

And, this one I am EXTREMELY EXCITED for:   lnmesjm

Last Night in Montreal by Emily St. John Mandel, which is getting rave reviews.

Mailbox Mondays are hosted by The Printed Page.

18 Responses to “Mailbox Monday”


  1. 2 bermudaonion July 13, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Oooh, I really want to read Last Night in Montreal – every review I’ve read of it has been great!

  2. 3 Dorte H July 13, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    They look good!

    I have not received any books by mail this week, but I think I´ll survive. I came home from Scotland with 13 new (or rather used) crime novels two days ago.

  3. 4 Care July 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    GT – what a beautiful poem!

    Kathy – I know! I’ve read some amazing reviews of this and it looks great.

    Dorte – uh oh, that’s a lot of books. enjoy! Are they all in English?

  4. 5 Dorte H July 13, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Oh yes! So much better than borrowing them in Danish from my library :D
    There are some Scottish, English, American and Australian books so they should be read in English.

  5. 6 Debi July 13, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Oh, I hadn’t heard of The Day the World Ended at Little Bighorn before, but I just went and read a little about it. It sounds like a book I’d love! I hope you end up enjoying it! And either way, I can’t wait to hear what you think.

  6. 7 KGMom July 13, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I enjoy visiting your blog as you alert me to books I have not yet encountered.
    Thanks for the help.
    Now, can you get me more time to read?

  7. 8 Joanne July 13, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    My border collie Raimi has come to an agreement with the mailman – if mailman doesn’t ring the bell, Raimi will not try to eat him.

    I think I may have to check out Last Night In Montreal – I’ve been hearing so much good talk about it at work.

  8. 9 Callista July 13, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I must say I haven’t heard of either of those books but you seem excited about it so that’s good!

  9. 10 Anna July 13, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    These sound good. I’m looking forward to your thoughts.

  10. 11 Belle July 13, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    I really must get a hold of Last Night in Montreal – the reviews all sound so tempting!

  11. 12 Emily St. John Mandel July 13, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Hope you enjoy Last Night in Montreal!

  12. 13 beastmomma July 13, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    It’s so nice to get fun mail!

  13. 14 Melody July 14, 2009 at 3:11 am

    Both sounds good! Happy reading!

  14. 15 Violet July 14, 2009 at 5:41 am

    I loved Last night in Montreal. Hope you like it too.

  15. 16 Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit) July 14, 2009 at 9:42 am

    happy monday! I love the cover of the first book…I’ve read the last night in montreal and enjoyed it.

  16. 17 Care July 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    @Dorte – You didn’t ‘borrow’ these from the cottage you were staying at, did you? I bet you found a quaint little bookstore, no?

    @KGMom – Thank YOU for contributing to my book-blog-habit. It’s so fun to find a new blog and realize we have been moving in different circles. Now, I’ve already forgotten how I found you – we have to have some blogger overlap, right? I can’t help you on time to read – just join on in the TMBTLT club (too many books; too little time)

    @Joanne – oh, I’m just sure that Oscar and Raimi would be fast friends. I’ve been telling O that UPS stands for United Puppy Snatchers and you really have to wonder if he knows it – he HATES the UPS guy! FedEx guy, too. But doesn’t mind our mail carrier.

    @Anna – Yea, I’m not sure abt the Little Bighorn one yet. I don’t want to do into it thinking I’ll not like it, but the rumor is out there already.

    @Belle – did you read Violet’s review, too? It’s the one that sold me.

    @@Emily St. John Mandel – I’m thinking I will. I peeped in on the twitter club last night but didn’t want to *know* too much. I had hopes of reading this before then but just didn’t happen. Thanks so much for stopping by!

    @Beastmomma – I love mail. I love packages.

    @Melody – Thanks, I always appreciate positive feedback.

    @Violet – Yours is the review that encouraged me to tbr this according to my goodreads.com notes. and Nancy the BookFool’s review, too.

    @Serena – Happy monday, I mean TUESDAY to you! I can’t say I agree on that cover but I really am not that into covers, generally. It seems too busy. It does fit, though and has nice colors.

  17. 18 Dorte H July 14, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Ha, it was tempting, but before we arrived at the cottage, I had already bought twelve books in various second-hand bookshops.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Introducing Aurelia the Bernese mt (crazy) dog who is playing host to the Oscar & Esther Show for the next few (many) weeks. Did I mention she is exuberant?! Yikes...

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

