The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Review  tglappps The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, Random House 2005, 274 pages.

MOTIVATION for READING:    You really didn’t think that I’d let a hot book with the word ‘pie’ in the title escape me, did you?        AND it’s about words and books and the love of books!    wonderful;  all kinds of wonderfulness.

WHAT it’s ABOUT:    A writer, Juliet, emerging from the war-weary time after WWII is looking for an idea for her next book when she receives a letter from a gentleman who had one of her ‘passed on’ books;  seems she had her name and address inside the front cover.   With no idea if the letter would find her, the guy sent off a request for more information about  the author Charles Lamb and how to get more books.      He is from Guernsey, one of the Channel Islands that had been occupied by the Nazis for most of the war.   And so Juliet begins a discovery of friendship and life and love.     This is a heartwarming, funny, endearing gem of a book full of crazy wonderful characters, history of the war and the power of the human spirit.    I heartfully and pie-fully recommend.

That’s really all I need to say, I think.   Five PIES.    pieratingsmlfourpie

Please visit Fyrefly’s awesome book blog search if you would like to find more reviews:       Book Blog Review Search

The official website has all sorts of fun stuff, too.    Ya know, if you need even more information.      I was going to include something about ‘what-actors-should-play-the-parts’ if they were to make a movie but even the comments for that give away hints of what happens in the book!        Lots of protests, too:   “PLEASE DO NOT MAKE A MOVIE!    It would only ruin the story.”

What do you think?   If you’ve read this book, would you want to see a movie?

16 Responses to “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society”


  1. 1 Debi July 7, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    “You really didn’t think that I’d let a hot book with the word ‘pie’ in the title escape me, did you?”…You so crack me up, girl! I really do need to pull this one off the shelf one day, don’t I?

  2. 3 bermudaonion July 7, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I loved this book and didn’t want it to end.

  3. 5 Violet July 7, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    You are reading all the good books Care. This book is on my wishlist.

    I’m on a roll, aren’t I? I have been a greedy speedy reader this past week.

  4. 6 Jenny July 8, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Wasn’t it sweet? I bought it for my mother a while ago, and then I wasn’t able to get it to her as quickly as I thought I was going to, so I, um, read it in the meantime. What a friendly book it is; I was glad the interwebs convinced me to get it.

    I do that! I buy books for presents but read them first… Good for you.

  5. 7 Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit) July 8, 2009 at 11:17 am

    I haven’t read this book yet, but I will be reading it for an upcoming TLC tour. I can’t wait to get started.

    Really? Oh, I’m so happy that TLC got this for tour! I’m sure everyone will love it. Will be watching for your review.

  6. 8 Bookfool, aka Nancy July 9, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I haven’t read this one, yet, but I swear I’m going to get to it, someday. Maybe September. I’m glad you liked it 4 pies worth. :)

    Actually, I changed it to FIVE pies! It’s wonderful – has all sorts of stuff to love, imo.

  7. 9 iliana July 11, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    I loved this book. I haven’t gotten around to reviewing it yet but I feel like all I can say is “go read it!” haha…

  8. 11 Joanne July 14, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Still haven’t read this one yet, can’t wait to though! So have you ever tried making this kind of pie? I’ve never heard of “potato peel pie” but I do love a good homemade potato pie :)

    • 12 Care July 14, 2009 at 2:23 pm

      HA! They actually say in the back of the book reader guide NOT to try it! so, no. But I’m still toying with the idea. Nah, I mean, I did think about it but I know I never will… Yea, now the good ol’ potato pie… forget it – just give me a heaping bowl full of mashed potatoes, butter, sour cream, salt&pepper. Now I’m hungry.

  9. 13 Marg July 16, 2009 at 6:48 am

    This is one of my top 3 reads of last year and I have been recommending it to anyone who will listen!

  10. 14 lisamm July 20, 2009 at 3:09 am

    I loved this one too. It really was full of bookish yummyness but Potato Peel Pie doesn’t actually sound very yummy at all. Now Sweet Potato Pie is a whole other deal…

  11. 15 diaryofaneccentric December 21, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    This book was just wonderful. I loved it more than I thought I would, and now I can’t stop recommending it to people. I hope it’s okay that I linked to your review on War Through the Generations.

    –Anna


  1. 1 More Thoughts on 2009’s Reading « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on January 4, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

I hate cleaning floors as much as I love pie. #justsayin'

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

