Nothing But Ghosts

Review  nothingbutghosts Nothing But Ghosts by Beth Kephart, 2009, 278 pages.

MOTIVATION for READING:    I wanted to help be a part of My Friend Amy’s book-buying-campaign, so I bought it.   I heard there might be prizes.   You can be a part of it, too!    Just click on these words ==>   My Friend Amy’s Nothing But Ghosts Bookdrive – join the fun.     The latest author (Jennie Nash) to make my favorites list had recommended Beth Kephart as one of HER favorite authors.   Timing was perfect for me to add this to Amazon order.

I purposefully did not read a THING about it, either!   So I was a bit surprised that it really isn’t quite a ghost story.      It’s a wonderful gentle story of a young girl dealing with the death of her mother, dealing with her father grieving the death of his wife, and a mystery surrounding a local recluse.    Kephart weaves together a touching tale of loss and discovery and love.

I enjoyed this very much:   FOUR PIES.

fourpie

If you prefer a more thorough review, please select one or all of the following:

My Friend Amy’s Review of Nothing But Ghosts

Presenting Lenore’s Review AND Interview!

The Compulsive Reader

* I can’t find my notes on this book!    I have since given the book to my cuz-in-law so I can’t refer back to it.    I know I took notes, first sentence, words, thoughts… oh well.       How quickly my new goal to include more information falls by the wayside.

10 Responses to “Nothing But Ghosts”


  1. 1 Beth F July 7, 2009 at 10:59 am

    This is my book club selection for August — I’m really looking forward to reading it.

  2. 3 Joanne July 7, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Glad you enjoyed this! I’ve been wanting to read this since seeing Amy’s feature about it, but my local store didn’t have a single copy (boo) so it’s now waiting in my amazon shopping cart. I’ve limited my online orders to once a month – it’s killing me I tell you :P

    • 4 Care July 7, 2009 at 11:35 am

      Joanne – I’m glad you are choosing it. I have a B&N giftcard I need to use and I just can’t decide what to get: too many choices.

  3. 5 bermudaonion July 7, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I bought this because of Amy too – glad to see it’s so good.

  4. 6 Violet July 7, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    no ghosts? hmmm….I was really looking forward to read this book although I don’t have it but I was planning to snatch it from a bookstore the moment I spot it. But I’ll have to think about it. I still want to read it but I’m in no hurry.

    Well, I suppose grieving has its own kind of ghosts…

  5. 7 Amy @ My Friend Amy July 8, 2009 at 1:34 am

    Whew, I’m glad you liked it. :) and thanks for your support.

    You bet! Here’s cheering you/us on to the goal! I am seeing this book everywhere so it is on people’s minds. :)

  6. 8 Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit) July 8, 2009 at 11:11 am

    this sounds like a good book. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and referring us to the challenge.

    Sure! Thanks for sharing your comment.

  7. 9 Bookfool, aka Nancy July 9, 2009 at 9:59 am

    That sounds like the kind of book that would take me apart and scatter little pieces of me across the floor, so that someone would have to vaccuum me up and . . . end of Bookfool. I think I’ll skip it. No more grief for me, this year. It undoes me in a big way.

    Actually, Nancy, it’s not so grief-heavy, really. But I understand. Well, I suppose it could be grief-heavy… it’s all a matter of perspective, isn’t it. so never mind. Plenty of books out there, right?!?!

  8. 10 Nymeth July 9, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Somehow I’d missed that you’d already read it too! Gentle really is the perfect word for it, isn’t ii?


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

Sunset

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

