Archive for July 7th, 2009

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Review  tglappps The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, Random House 2005, 274 pages.

MOTIVATION for READING:    You really didn’t think that I’d let a hot book with the word ‘pie’ in the title escape me, did you?        AND it’s about words and books and the love of books!    wonderful;  all kinds of wonderfulness.

WHAT it’s ABOUT:    A writer, Juliet, emerging from the war-weary time after WWII is looking for an idea for her next book when she receives a letter from a gentleman who had one of her ‘passed on’ books;  seems she had her name and address inside the front cover.   With no idea if the letter would find her, the guy sent off a request for more information about  the author Charles Lamb and how to get more books.      He is from Guernsey, one of the Channel Islands that had been occupied by the Nazis for most of the war.   And so Juliet begins a discovery of friendship and life and love.     This is a heartwarming, funny, endearing gem of a book full of crazy wonderful characters, history of the war and the power of the human spirit.    I heartfully and pie-fully recommend.

That’s really all I need to say, I think.   Five PIES.    pieratingsmlfourpie

Please visit Fyrefly’s awesome book blog search if you would like to find more reviews:       Book Blog Review Search

The official website has all sorts of fun stuff, too.    Ya know, if you need even more information.      I was going to include something about ‘what-actors-should-play-the-parts’ if they were to make a movie but even the comments for that give away hints of what happens in the book!        Lots of protests, too:   “PLEASE DO NOT MAKE A MOVIE!    It would only ruin the story.”

What do you think?   If you’ve read this book, would you want to see a movie?

Nothing But Ghosts

Review  nothingbutghosts Nothing But Ghosts by Beth Kephart, 2009, 278 pages.

MOTIVATION for READING:    I wanted to help be a part of My Friend Amy’s book-buying-campaign, so I bought it.   I heard there might be prizes.   You can be a part of it, too!    Just click on these words ==>   My Friend Amy’s Nothing But Ghosts Bookdrive – join the fun.     The latest author (Jennie Nash) to make my favorites list had recommended Beth Kephart as one of HER favorite authors.   Timing was perfect for me to add this to Amazon order.

I purposefully did not read a THING about it, either!   So I was a bit surprised that it really isn’t quite a ghost story.      It’s a wonderful gentle story of a young girl dealing with the death of her mother, dealing with her father grieving the death of his wife, and a mystery surrounding a local recluse.    Kephart weaves together a touching tale of loss and discovery and love.

I enjoyed this very much:   FOUR PIES.

fourpie

If you prefer a more thorough review, please select one or all of the following:

My Friend Amy’s Review of Nothing But Ghosts

Presenting Lenore’s Review AND Interview!

The Compulsive Reader

* I can’t find my notes on this book!    I have since given the book to my cuz-in-law so I can’t refer back to it.    I know I took notes, first sentence, words, thoughts… oh well.       How quickly my new goal to include more information falls by the wayside.


I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Whiskey Sour. A REAL whiskey sour. SO good

Goodreads

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers