Review 84, Charing Cross Road

Review  efccrhh 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff, Penguin Books 1970, 97 pages

What a delight!    quick, funny, short, smart, DELIGHTFUL.   Helene Hanff was quite a character.    You can read much more about Ms. Hanff by visiting Citizen Reader’s series from mid April 2009  => click here.

Ms. Hanff wrote letters to a bookseller in England and this book describes the relationships she has with books, the employees and family of the bookshop over the course of 20+ years.

I had first heard about 84, Cross Charing Road in a post by Jessica of The Bluestocking Society a looooooong time ago claiming it as one of those books everyone should read.   I had never heard of it.   CR gave me the kick in the butt.    FINALLY, I got around to it and I can’t tell you just how charming it is. This would be an excellent book for a Read-A-Thon if you like a sense of satisfaction for number of books completed,  it won’t take but an hour or two to read – – if that, you will laugh out loud, and you will be delightfully charmed.   I dare you to not be.

Four Slices of Pie

pieratingsml

pieratingsml

pieratingsml

pieratingsml

I am looking forward to seeing the movie.    mvefccr

This is a repeat of a paragraph I posted in a previous post

21 Responses to “Review 84, Charing Cross Road”


  1. 1 Beth F April 28, 2009 at 5:19 am

    The book is great, isn’t it? The movie is also charming. Hope you enjoy it.

    Yes, I did love it – I would have given it more pie if it had been longer. And I admit I’m shy about seeing the movie; I’m worried about Hollywood’s romanticizing it too much. But everyone seems to rec the movie, too, so I’ll see it.

  2. 2 Violet April 28, 2009 at 5:53 am

    97 pages sounds really tempting for a good book. I didn’t know there was a movie on this. Hope it releases here.

    And it’s 97 pages of pages not full of text! so it’s even shorter.

  3. 3 jennysbooks April 28, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I really liked this book too! I believe she wrote another book, The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street, I think? It’s her journal from when she actually travels to London and meets her old pen pals. Also very good!

    What little I know and of course, from reading this letter exchange, I believe Hanff was very talented. I am most intrigued by her self-education process – I know I have not read most of her major influences and I have to search for these nor her own writings yet; but want to.

  4. 4 Debi April 28, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I meant to tell you before that I did actually check to see if our library had this when you commented to me that it would make a great read-a-thon pick. Fortunately, our library does have it; unfortunately, someone had it checked out so I couldn’t get it time for the read-a-thon. But I definitely plan to check every time we hit the library. It sounds wonderful!

    I think you will find it as delightful as I do.
    :)

  5. 5 iliana April 28, 2009 at 11:23 am

    This is such a delightful book. A real book for bookworms isn’t it? I can’t believe I haven’t seen the movie though. Must add it to the movie radar :)

    Yes! bookworms like us will love it.

  6. 6 Elizabeth April 28, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Hi,
    I want to apologize for not getting back to you about the New England Bloggers. I thought I was receiving all of my comments via email, but such was not the case, so I am going through them one by one. I’m adding you to the list today. If you’d like to be included in emails about activities we are doing, you can email me through my profile. For example, this week we are hosting giveaways and linking to each other. It’s really increasing traffic.

    Thanks for the update!

  7. 7 bermudaonion April 28, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    This is on my wish list!

    You’ll love it. I’m sure of it.

  8. 8 Julia Smith April 28, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I haven’t read the book but I’ve seen the film – and loved it. Anthony Hopkins is one of my favorites, after all. And it’s about people who love books. What’s not to love?

    EXACTLY.

  9. 9 nat @ book, line, and sinker April 28, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    why have i never heard of this? the more blogs i read, the more books i realize that i’ve missed. this creates quite a catch-22–i spend more time reading blogs and then have LESS time to read the suggested books. lol.

    I know EXACTLY what you mean! I feel the same way.

  10. 10 Carrie K. April 28, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    I loved this book – just read it last week. I am so excited to learn of the follow-up book.

    Did I know that you just read this? I will go look for your thoughts. Thanks!

  11. 11 Jessica April 29, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I’m so glad that you enjoyed this book. I really really love it. In fact, I might read it again today. I makes me miss the dates of writing letters. Do you think people in 100 years will be touched by our emails and texts with misspellings and smiley faces?

    I don’t know! I so get you now – this book should be read by book lovers. I’m so glad I can give you and blogging! the credit.

  12. 12 bybee May 1, 2009 at 2:45 am

    I haven’t read this book, but I LOVED the movie. Wish I owned.

  13. 13 Nymeth May 3, 2009 at 4:26 am

    I’m going to have to get to this soon. It does sound like an absolute delight!

  14. 14 Care May 4, 2009 at 6:11 am

    @Bybee – I have the movie coming to me this week. I wasn’t sure abt it when I read the blurb but everyone keeps telling me it is good. Can’t wait.

    @Nymeth – welcome back. You will love this. AND I’m committing to the Sacks book so feel free to email me with you contact info and I hope to mail this off to you next week? and I have a present as well.

  15. 15 Joanne May 8, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    I loved this book! It’s one of those great ones that can be read again and again with enjoyment. And I’m so excited that my library has 5 copies of the DVD on order! Can’t wait to see how it is on film :)

  16. 16 diaryofaneccentric May 15, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    I’ve heard good things about this one. I guess it’s a similar structure to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and everyone tells me that since I loved that book, I should try this one. I had no idea it was a movie.

    –Anna

    I’m looking forward to reading the Potato Peel Pie book. One, it has PIE in the title! I read another review of an epistolary book: Afternoons with Emily that has me wanting to read this also.

  17. 17 Steffen May 24, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Great book indeed! I’ve been in London some days ago and was of course looking for that house. Here’s what I found:

    http://www.kunstblogbuch.de/2009/05/25/ein-ort-mit-geschichten-charing-cross-road-nr-84-heute/

  18. 18 Tracey June 4, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Oh I agree with delightful – it really is. I hadn’t heard of it either before discovering it on a blog but loved it as well when I read it. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I love Anne Bancroft so must do something about that 0:)


  1. 1 84, Charing Cross Road, by Helene Hanff « The Zen Leaf Trackback on January 30, 2011 at 4:06 pm
  2. 2 Q’s Legacy « Care's Online Book Club Trackback on December 14, 2011 at 5:41 am
  3. 3 84, Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff | Iris on Books Trackback on November 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,506 other followers

Twitter Updates

#ilovepie

Goodreads

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,506 other followers

