Library Loot – Third Week in Feb 2009

Library Loot is jointly hosted by Eva and Alessandra.     Three books followed me home from the library this week.    

library-loot1

Usually, I’m only there to tutor my Lusophone friend (who doesn’t believe this is a real word, fyi.)    I do pick up books I’ve reserved from the online catalog service they offer but I rarely lollygag around and just look for books.   But today, we had a conflict / miscommunication so I was all alone with a few minutes to kill.     And…   as I was sitting there enjoying but not riveted by my current read, I noticed a book staring at me.

aumja  An Unfinished Marriage by Joan Anderson, 2002, 223 pages

… A unique, tremendously moving and insightful entry into the literature of marriage, [this book] will provide salutary* shocks of recognition and fresh hope for all women and men negotiating their own marital passages.   (from the back cover)

Anderson’s first book, A Year By the Sea, reminds me some of  Eat, Pray, Love by Liz Gilbert.   She took a sabbatical from her marriage and chronicled her experience, and now this book discusses how she and her husband get back together.   I’m curious…

And, then I thought about my upcoming assignment:

selbymath  Geometry & Trigonometry for Calculus:  A Self-Teaching Guide by Peter H Selby

Squeee!    I need to find out if I am ready to be a Math Tutor this summer.    I will attempt a problem every day.  Starting later today.   Maybe.   Or Tomorrow…

and, the last book was on the $2 BOOK SALE ROLLCART:

ostiotcb The Island of the Colorblind by Oliver Sacks, 1996, 266 pages

I’m hoping this will qualify for The Science Challenge?    Here’s what the back cover says:

“An explorer of that most wondrous of island, the human brain,”  writes DM Thomas in The New York Times Book Review, “Oliver Sacks also loves the oceanic kind of islands.”  Both kinds figure movingly in this book – part travelogue, part autobiography, part medical mystery story – in which Sacks’ journeys to a tiny Pacific atoll and the island of Guam become explorations of the meaning of island, the genesis of disease, the wonders of botany, the nature of deep geological time, and the complexities of being human.

sciencebook

 

 

WORD
* salutary – good: tending to promote physical well-being; beneficial to health; Unpleasant, but ultimately providing a useful lesson; Promoting good health; wholesome; curative.

7 Responses to “Library Loot – Third Week in Feb 2009”


  1. 1 Eva February 22, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I love Oliver Sacks!! (And he definitely would count towards the Science Book challenge.) That math book makes you a better woman than I. ;)

    Good, I don’t mind reading more Sciency books. I need to get started on my World Citizen Challenge. I think I’ll skip your Feb challenge just because I have so many posts in my head to spill out by the end of the month.

  2. 2 softdrink February 22, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I have this great image of you driving home and the books running after car.

    LOL! I opened the car door and they jumped right in...

  3. 3 alirambles February 22, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Love Oliver Sacks, but haven’t read that one. Don’t love Trig but I’m happy you’re excited about tutoring!

    Sacks has a few titles that interest me.
    On the first self-test, first chapter, I only missed 1! I remember that Geometry made sense to me but I don’t quite recall my experience with Trig.

  4. 4 Bookfool, aka Nancy February 22, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Sounds like you got some good stuff. I think I have an Oliver Sacks book, but I haven’t read it — an older one, maybe The Woman Who Walked into Walls or Doors or something like that. I can’t even remember. Maybe she ate her hat. Isn’t he a psychiatrist or some other kind of doctor? Definitely a science guy.

    Yes, he’s a brain guy. His book on Music looks very interesting. Debi answers your question about the hat.

  5. 5 sagustocox February 23, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    looks like some good loot.

    I hope so! If I can get myself back in a reading mode… Mauve took it out of me for some reason.

  6. 6 Debi February 23, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    I’ve never read any Sacks, but I know my hubby loves his books (including that one). Always thought I should try him someday, but never have.

    LOL, and Nancy, I bet it’s The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat.

    THANKS for answering Nancy’s question! I want to read the Musicology book by Sacks, too, but this was the only on sale.

  7. 7 James January 1, 2013 at 11:54 pm

    Hi there to every one, it’s truly a good for me to pay a visit this site, it contains valuable Information.


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Introducing Aurelia the Bernese mt (crazy) dog who is playing host to the Oscar & Esther Show for the next few (many) weeks. Did I mention she is exuberant?! Yikes...

Goodreads

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

