Never Let Me Go

After reading the review at Chartroose’s blog (I won’t link – you all probably know it already, anyway.   She’s going to start thinking I’m stalking her and we can’t have her figuring that out, now can we?), I’m wondering how I should approach my own review of this interesting book.

Review    Never Let Me Go  by Kazuo Ishiguro

I could point you to the search in all of WordPressLand:   http://en.search.wordpress.com/?q=never+let+me+go+kazuo+ishiguro   There are many reviews.     Please feel free to leave me a link to YOUR review if you have one.  Thanks.

or…

I could just tell you it was amazing and let it go at that.    But, I do believe it begs discussion and I must rush over to my friend’s house and insist she read it NOW so we can talk about.      I also think you might want to NOT know too much.    For this novel, I purposely only read reviews that attempted to be vague.    So, if you are like me, don’t go read Chartroose’s ‘Review And Then Some’ until AFTER you read the book.

å

A few quotes to share from other bloggers:   “Disturbing but quiet.  Thoughtful but mildly strange.”   - Verbivore at Incurable Logophilia

“While the scenes are in many ways idyllic, there’s a thread of wrongness running through all of her [the narrator's] stories, and the reader is on guard.”    Eva, A Striped Armchair

 

Quotes from the book,

I can recall now, as fresh as anything, Tommy’s own face, the anger receding for the moment, being replaced by an expression almost of wonder, like I was a rare butterfly he’d come across on a fencepost.     p195

“It’s too easy,” I said,”to criticise when you’re just driving by.”
“Easiest thing in the world,” Tommy said.   p228

 

  Å

This completes 10% of my 2008 1.0 Percent of the 1001 Challenge.    Did anyone else notice the odd drawings/characters that separated sections?    

OK, not related but I HAD to go search youtube for Judy Bridgewater!   ha.    Found this instead.    It sort of works, though.

 

9 Responses to “Never Let Me Go”


  1. 1 Lezlie June 10, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I did see those! I forgot all about it until you just mentioned them here! I never looked into what they might mean, if anything.

    Lezlie

  2. 2 chartroose June 10, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Hey, I received the book! Hooray, and thanks. I’m still thinking of books you might enjoy…it’ll be fun choosing one.

  3. 3 bkclubcare June 10, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    @Lezlie – I wouldn’t know where to look! I noticed them about the third one and wondered if they were significant or just… I don’t know!

    @Chartroose – I’m so glad you received it; that was fast. I am excited to see what you will pick for me. and why. :)

  4. 4 lisamm June 10, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    This is a book I’ve wanted to read forever!!

    Hey Char–did you get that restraining order yet?? LOL

  5. 5 Bryce June 10, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    mmm… good taste! as you saw, this book is absolutely one of my all-time favorites. Glad you seemed to like it as well!

  6. 6 Melody June 10, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    I still haven’t read this book, yet!!! Looks like I need to get this one soon…

  7. 7 bookchronicle June 11, 2008 at 8:36 am

    I’ve been eying this book for a long time. Perhaps I’ll finally have to get around to it. Another one for the stacks!

  8. 8 Shauna June 20, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Do you mind if I link your review of Never Let Me Go to my own review, since we both reviewed it recently?

    Sure, Shauna! You don’t even have to ask about linking – pls go right ahead. And do go read Chartroose’s review if you haven’t. It’s full of fun facts.


  1. 1 What Are You Doing Next? « Care’s Online Book Club Trackback on June 29, 2008 at 8:56 am

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,511 other followers

Twitter Updates

Good bye, NevA DulMo! Til next year...

Goodreads

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,511 other followers

