Review: Matrimony by Joshua Henkin

Review    Matrimony by Joshua Henkin

My one word to describe this book is GENTLE.    Perhaps, that is exactly what I needed after the sad-to-me fact of not being able to finish the few books I attempted prior to this one.     And YIPPEE!  I read every word of this. 

As the May/June selection for the Planet Books Book Club, I was so happy that this was available to me at my local library.     Published in 2007 by Pantheon Books, a division of Random House, Inc., this book is 291 pages, for those who like to know such things…

*** SPOILERS AHEAD ***

This starts off seeming to be a story of two guys who meet their freshman year of college.   They are thrust into friendship when the professor of their creative writing class declares them to be the best that semester as he insults their work (and all of this students), and soon becomes a gentle weaving tale of life and marriage.   Interspersed with light moments and mostly heavy ones – death, grief, betrayal;  it never becomes a burden of a story – not at all.

Julian marries Mia, his girlfriend from that first year of college.    His writing friend Carter is backdrop and counterpoint – we never quite get into Carter’s head and he doesn’t ‘grow up’ until the end.    But he does play a pivotal role.     Julian wants to be a novelist.    Mia wonders if she can survive losing her mother.    Does their marriage survive the career frustrations, the conflict of personal goals to the goal of staying together?

The story is woven and layered across the years.  Consider a movie camera that changes perspectives showing highlights from far above (like the penthouse office and home that Julian moves through with his parents), and pans across the landscapes of their love and then slowly zooms into the minds and hearts of Julian and Mia – never at the same time.   Henkin was a master of this technique of allowing the reader into pieces and parts, to get emotionally involved and yet held at a distance, much like the partner of whose ever head he was ‘inside’ at the time.    First Julian, then Mia, then Julian and then back together again.     I think that was the point:  to have us rooting for each side, to realize how separate these two are as individuals and yet how well they complement each other in the end.

I liked the pace of this book.   I was slightly frustrated that we didn’t get more of Carter, but then again – I really didn’t like him much.  But I really liked Mia and I grew to like Julian as the story of their love unfolded.     Many things were not shared and I also believe this to be part of the author’s intention – gaps in time, their wedding was barely touched on, only one religion’s influence explored, the changing question of when or IF to have a child and becoming parents, etc.    Tis true, in ‘real life’, we never really get the ‘whole’ story, even when it’s ours!  

I very much enjoyed reading the descriptions of the creative writing courses and studying the ‘art’ of writing.    Technique and style, the challenges to writer’s block, competition between classmates and how vicious critiquing can be – I had no idea!    (OK, this part isn’t ‘gentle’!)   And… I also want to say, that Henkin gives a lot of description of moving through the locations, the streets of the towns, the buildings, etc.    Made me think, if I was from Ann Arbor or NYC, I could shout, “Yes!  I KNOW that place!”   

I would rank this 3.5 out of 5 stars.

*** 1/2

I will share one of the quotes from the back of the book:

“With vibrant intelligence, Matrimony looks at the mystery of how a couple stays together and the ways even the most privileged among us are subject to the disasters wrought by our incalculable natures.   A  luminous tale, eloquently told. – Joan Silber

 

Links to REVIEWS I know about:  Leave a link/comment if you have one to share!

Julie P:Booking Mama

Lisa M:  Books on the Brain

One Minute Book Reviews

 

6 Responses to “Review: Matrimony by Joshua Henkin”


  1. 1 Planet Books May 15, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    WOW! You read thatpretty quickly! I’m holding off on reading yours and Lisa’s reviews due to the spoiler alerts. I’m halfway through the book and I want to be surprised by the story.
    I’ll check back here when I’m done and comment again.
    XOXO-K

  2. 2 lisamm May 16, 2008 at 12:54 am

    Great review, Care! Thanks for the link love :-)

  3. 3 joshua Henkin June 30, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Care,

    I read your review a while back, as well as some of your comments on other blogs, and have been meaning to write you and thank you for the kind words about MATRIMONY. MATRIMONY will be out in paperback at the end of August, and if you’re interested in doing a giveaway, I’d be happy to give a free signed paperback copy of MATRIMONY to one of your readers once paperback is out. Let me know if you’re interested.

    Best,

    Joshua Henkin

  4. 4 Indian Matrimony - Matrimonial Services September 18, 2009 at 11:32 am

    We got to really appreciate the work done!!!!! keep it up.


  1. 1 Review - Matrimony « Book Addiction Trackback on May 17, 2008 at 6:37 pm
  2. 2 Review: Matrimony by Joshua Henkin « Books on the Brain Trackback on May 18, 2008 at 11:28 pm

Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

I hate cleaning floors as much as I love pie. #justsayin'

Goodreads

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

