Archive for March 24th, 2008

Upcoming…

I am excited to let you know that I’m moving back into CURRENT stuff!   I’m reading The Diving Bell and the Butterfly for my memoir/bio/auto Something-Shoes challenge and will start the St. Lucy’s Home for Girls Raised by Wolves Short Story Collection right after that.  

And…  I’Jaam came today!   That was fast.   and I want to get this read so I can talk to Softdrink about it…

Book Review: I Sent A Letter To My Love

img_0994.jpg 

I Sent A Letter To My Love by Bernice Rubens

From Amazon:

Synopsis
“All her life, Amy Evans has struggled against that unkind gift of fate – ugliness. A squat nose stubbed like a plasticine afterthought on her face, a chin too long and eyes straining to meet each other, form a sad picture that dooms Amy to a life of solitude and lovelessness. Now in her fifties, Amy lives alone with her crippled brother, both prisoners of the hopes and aspirations of their youth. Then Amy makes a final bid for happiness, a last ditch attempt to meet someone she can love . who might love her. Suddenly her life takes on dizzying new dimensions as she explores untrodden paths of sexual awareness in an all-or-nothing gamble for dangerous and delicious success. “

 isaltml1.jpg [Apparently they've adapted this into a French movie and quite a few live plays...]

I REALLY enjoyed this book!    The style and mood of this work is playful, intense, creative and enticing.    and dark, but not a depressing dark, maybe sinister is the better word here.     Just one of these feelings where you wonder ‘uh oh.  This isn’t going to end well!’   But you HAVE to keep reading to find out!    It doesn’t end as bad as I imagined…   But on the other hand, it isn’t what I’d call a happy ending, either.

Question:   do you enjoy books that actually stir your imagination beyond where the author intends to take you?!

Amy is not the favored child growing up.    We only get a quick chapter, a short glimpse into Amy’s seventh year, but we are easily persuaded of how the early years have formed her into a middle-aged woman who has had sad experiences form her life.   

We are then taken into this adult life where her parents are gone and she is the caretaker of her brother who has lived much longer than anyone ever expected.  

“There’s good you are to me, Amy,” he says.

Amy starts to fear the next phase – WHAT will become of her sad little life when he dies and leaves her all alone?!      So she takes out a personal ad in the newspaper.     Oh my.

FOUR STARS   4star.jpg FOURhhhhhhhhhh

[For my Novella Challenge.   197 pages.    Rubens was the Man Booker Prize Winner for Fiction in 1970.  This book was published in 1978.]

Garden State, A CLARIFICATION

The Garden State book by Rick Moody that I reviewed in an earlier post is NOT the same as the movie Garden State starring, written by and directed by Zach Braff of TV Scrubs fame.

Both happen to describe twentysomething-year-olds who happen to live in New Jersey.

As far as I was able to research, Moody and Braff only share a title of a creative work in common.   Anything else is coincidental.  

In fact, as this keeps bugging me for some reason so I keep digging…    I just found an interview (July/2004) with Braff by the Washington Post, where he says:

Washington, D.C.: Is this screenplay/film based on the Rick Moody book of the same name?

Zach Braff: No. “Garden State” is a nickname for New Jersey and I think we both used that.

So, anyway.  I felt I needed to clarify that.    But imdb.com only has Braff’s film and the only references to Moody is that he wrote The Ice Storm and did something else.   Nothing about this book being turned into a film.    Thanks.  – Care


I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Whiskey Sour. A REAL whiskey sour. SO good

Goodreads

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers