On Nonfiction; And A Meme

Recently, I have been stumbling upon more blogs reviewing nonfiction.    I didn’t always read nonfiction but I believe that it all started with a move to the State of Missouri and my wanting to know more about my new place of residence.   About that time, David McCullough published an awesome book called Truman.      It was this book that started my love for bios and memoirs which is the bulk of my nonfiction reading these days.     See this prior post where I tell about my accepting a challenge:  In Their Shoes.

I have also credited Tracy Kidder for being influential in broadening my reading horizons.   I don’t often follow an author and devour everything they have ever penned; what is interesting with Mr. Kidder is that I have read him over a long span of time.    I started with The Soul of a New Machine.   Then, a few years later, I read House.   And recently, I very much enjoyed Mountains Beyond Mountains.    All are different from each other, all are excellent!    (And this reminds me that I should get back and read EVERYTHING he’s written!)

I had a friend buy me The Secret Life of Lobsters by Trevor Corson and I loved this, too!   So, I can be inspired by topics and not just real people.    Someone recommended  Salt: A World History: Mark Kurlansky to me but I failed to correctly write it down;  I went to the bookstore and came home with The Book of Salt  by Monique TD Truong - a completely different book (NOT nonfiction, but fascinating!   Just another example of books that find me.)

          

I have been tagged for a meme on nonfiction, and here it is: 

A.) What issues/topic interests you most in non-fiction, i.e, cooking, knitting, stitching, there are infinite topics that has nothing to do with novels?   Most of the non-fiction I seek out is memoir and biography.    I also follow a few authors and I am easily influenced by bloggers who recommend books.      See my favorite, NRA in my blogroll or click here 

B) Would you like to review books concerning those?   Sure, I would and I do.   Since starting the blog, I’ve reviewed quite a few:  Mayflower, all the ones to date for the In Their Shoes Challenge, and The Year of Magical Thinking come quickly to mind.
           

C) Would you like to be paid or do it as interest or hobby? Tell reasons for whatever you choose.    I would worry that the pressure of producing something pay-worthy will kill the fun.    I suffer enough from review-envy (my friend Lisa is a skilled reviewer and I admit, I tend to write with her in mind now…)
                     

D) Would you recommend those to your friends and how?    I always recommend good books.    During conversation about books and lately, by telling EVERYONE to go to my blog!
       

E) If you have already done something like this, link it to your post.      I think I left a comment at Eva’s, at a Striped Armchair on how excited I was to post on this topic.  She has a beautiful post on her thoughts on nonfiction and the comments she has received are just as wonderful.   Read them all here. 

F) Please don’t forget to link back here or whoever tags you.   Thank you BeastMomma for inviting me to this meme!

 

 I won’t tag anyone but invite you all to tell me what nonfiction book you MOST  recommend.   And/or your favorite topic or type of nonfiction.  Or favorite author.   I’ll be gone for awhile but will be back to enjoy your responses and promise to visit your blogs in March.   Happy Leap Year!

3 Responses to “On Nonfiction; And A Meme”


  1. 1 Eva February 27, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I read a Tracy Kidder book about an elementary school teacher last year and really enjoyed it. :)

    Non-fiction I would most recommend? Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen-it’s just gorgeous.

  2. 2 beastmomma February 27, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Tracy Kidder is an incredible writer. The non-fiction book I would recommend is Memoirs from a Women’s Prison.

  3. 3 Susan March 2, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Hi there! I saw your comment, so returned the favour and came to your blog…..very nice! and I love the pink journal you just picked up.
    As for non-fiction books I recommend, I recommend the one I’m currently reading – The Canadian Settler’s Handbook by Catharine Parr Traill. I will be reviewing the book shortly on my blog,but for now i can tell you that it is a handbook for the early settlers coming to Ontario. Traill herself came in the 1820’s, to Peterborough, so she writes of what she learned, what the cooked with, how. It’s basically how to survive in the wilderness, and is a fascinating look at what Canadian housewives used and how they cooked and gardened in the early 1800’s as Canada was settled.
    Anyway, I’m happy to find you!


Welcome! I invite you to comment. If for some reason commenting is troublesome, pls send email to BkClubCare [at] Gmail

I prefer pi.

pieratingsml

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,523 other followers

Twitter Updates

Scream!!!

Goodreads

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Copyright Notice

Creative Commons License
Care's Online Book Club text & images by Care is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,523 other followers

